HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jul 10, 2013, 12:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
94 Posts
Where did you find your rods?

I bought a taylon V2 much too heavy my gawd...
Hockeystud87 is offline Find More Posts by Hockeystud87
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 10, 2013, 12:50 AM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
United States, NY, Huntington Station
Joined May 2012
1,677 Posts
Depends on how easy/difficult to get a frame going. I got 50 minutes on my extended Talon V2. More than enough for me.

chuenwe is offline Find More Posts by chuenwe
Old Jul 10, 2013, 01:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe View Post
Depends on how easy/difficult to get a frame going. I got 50 minutes on my extended Talon V2. More than enough for me.

Ya I will be using the multi star with the better higher density batteries as well. So I should get a few more minutes outta mine. I also have the trgy 12 amps so I will have a lighter build, probably gonna put them right under the prop wash for better cooling. I guess just shut up and see what happens...

Any difference between the foxtech and the rc timer? there is a massive difference in price...

Also whats your forward flight time? I'm wondering what that flight time will look like...
Hockeystud87 is offline Find More Posts by Hockeystud87
Old Jul 10, 2013, 06:10 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,406 Posts
For Talon V2, not the rods make it heavy, but all those Alu parts.
A Talon V1/V2 central plate with two 12x10mm booms cross mounted with zip ties is under 150 grams frame.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Old Jul 10, 2013, 06:26 AM
fast
fmkit's Avatar
ISRAEL
Joined Aug 2007
2,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blimppilot@ph View Post
whats the flight time?


almost 20 minutes not sound much but if you scale duration/mass of regular 1kg+ rigs then my quad is comparable to those with carbon props and $$$ motors
fmkit is offline Find More Posts by fmkit
Old Jul 10, 2013, 08:04 AM
Registered User
Stefan_Go's Avatar
Finland, Pirkanmaa, Valkeakoski
Joined Sep 2012
498 Posts
Somebody wrote that all those CF props come from the same factory, no matter if RCT, Foxtech or Hobbyking sells them...
I found those on ebay, 17x5,5, 2 pairs for $31,90 (RCT: $39,90). Seller has 99,4% positive out of 3179 ratings. They also have CF tubes and other props.
Stefan_Go is offline Find More Posts by Stefan_Go
Old Jul 10, 2013, 08:16 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,707 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan_Go View Post
Somebody wrote that all those CF props come from the same factory, no matter if RCT, Foxtech or Hobbyking sells them...
I found those on ebay, 17x5,5, 2 pairs for $31,90 (RCT: $39,90). Seller has 99,4% positive out of 3179 ratings. They also have CF tubes and other props.
I think the real problem is, factory seconds. Ones that did not make the standard or in someway did not mean all of the requirements. I would beware of the ones on ebay.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Old Jul 10, 2013, 06:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
94 Posts
Where do I get the 750 mm rods
Hockeystud87 is offline Find More Posts by Hockeystud87
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:26 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,672 Posts
I think if you guys used 2 very large carbon fiber rods and a single flat sheet of carbon fiber and made a H quad that you might be able to shave more weight. Also maybe a 6s setup org the same weight battery as your 4s battery but obviously it will be less mah but it should be more efficient bc you can run smaller wires to the escs and motors to save weight and 6s with 17.5 props with good motors would make a Ron of lift at a very low amp draw.
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Old Jul 11, 2013, 01:38 PM
Hamburger
hamburger's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
869 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhar View Post
To submit a flight via a form (no google account necessary):

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1ze6...-pb3o/viewform

To view submitted flights:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...Xc&usp=sharing
not too many entries yet - nothing to enter or not interested? Where are all the (semi) records from interested parties?
hamburger is offline Find More Posts by hamburger
Old Jul 11, 2013, 01:50 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
United States, NY, Huntington Station
Joined May 2012
1,677 Posts
Someone created a similar google doc in the Tarot Hex/Octo and had a lot more entries. They were targeted for the motor and prop choices on those frames though.
chuenwe is offline Find More Posts by chuenwe
Old Jul 11, 2013, 05:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
94 Posts
Wouldn't the multistar motors be about to handle 6S? why not try? Also you say smaller wires yes.. but you then need bigger ESC.
Hockeystud87 is offline Find More Posts by Hockeystud87
Old Jul 11, 2013, 06:08 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,672 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeystud87 View Post
Wouldn't the multistar motors be about to handle 6S? why not try? Also you say smaller wires yes.. but you then need bigger ESC.
I'm not sure if the turnigy motors handle 6s and I wouldn't run those anyways. T-Motormakessome 30A 2-6s escs that are awesome and there not big at all. There the same size as regular 30A escs.
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Old Jul 11, 2013, 06:28 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
United States, NY, Huntington Station
Joined May 2012
1,677 Posts
We are already using 340KV motors on 3s-4s to get long flight time. If you use 6s, wouldn't you need to find a 170-230KV motors to get similar result? It's gonna be tough to find such motor.
chuenwe is offline Find More Posts by chuenwe
Old Jul 11, 2013, 07:35 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
United States, TN, Clarksville
Joined Dec 2011
3,672 Posts
No you can use these.http://www.rctigermotor.com/show.php?contentid=171 340kv on 15 in prop and make good thrust and at 2.8 amps it makes 750g of thrust o 4 of these motors at half throttle would make 3000g thrust which is I'm sure almost 3x the thrust of the weight of your quads. So you would actually probably only use 3.7A to hover the quad. That's assuming Auw is 1000Grams. And let's just say Auw is 1500grams you would theoretically pull only 5.6A to hover. Or even better these motors http://www.rctigermotor.com/show.php?contentid=187 are only 82grams and pull 2.9A on a 15x5 prop at 50% and generate 780 grams of thrust. And there 50 grams lighter each compared to the 1st motor I made a link of so they would shave 200grams off by using the second motors I list.
flohio117 is offline Find More Posts by flohio117
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Anyone fly with a Hacker A10-15s and a Glavak prop? r/cmark Indoor Pattern/F3P 6 Apr 10, 2013 10:45 PM
Discussion LiPo Battery Flighttime with MultiWii Jessestr Multirotor Talk 3 Jan 15, 2012 05:30 AM
Discussion Shorter flighttime with a 3s Lipo, than a 2s Lipo ? SpookiePower Batteries and Chargers 12 Oct 28, 2009 03:19 PM
Discussion E550 with 15S A123 genexis Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 17, 2006 01:05 PM
FS: Hacker B50 15S with 1/8" shaft and MEC Superbox smsgill Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 Sep 05, 2003 11:57 AM