HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:28 PM
Bob Imp
UK, Cardiff, Cardiff
Joined Nov 2006
360 Posts
Discussion
Powerhouse build.

Being a compulsive builder I have had much assistance from the Forum in obtaining plans, this being the latest. I built an original size Powerhouse (80" span?) some years ago but fancied a smaller version! This one is resized to 44" span, a nice "handleable" size! It`s a simple budiling process for anyone used to building from plans and I`ve enclosed some pics. showing the progression of building. I have been building and flying for many years and seem to have stuck in a time warp at the 40`s and 50`s as most of my efforts are of this vintage! I`ve always thought that vintage style models are very relaxing to fly and make excellent trainers, far more so than the overweight, overpowered offerings from the trade. Just a personal thought! I`ll post more pics. as the model nears completion and hopefully of it`s maiden flight! PS. seems like the pics. have posted in the wrong order, but you can see the progress!
imp.bob is offline Find More Posts by imp.bob
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:23 PM
Blenheim, NZ
Joined Dec 2007
1,146 Posts
Nice tribute to Sal at this time

Nice Bob, I look forward to seeing it come together. I agree with your comments on vintage as trainers. Set up right you can just take your hands off and they sort themselves out. They were free flighters after all.

All the best for the New Year.

Allan
AllanK1 is offline Find More Posts by AllanK1
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:28 AM
KNS
Switzerland, SO, Olten
Joined Dec 2012
336 Posts
Cool!
Regarding scaling down to 55% - How much did you reduce the thickness of your balsa? Are you just building everything smaller, or are you also reducing the number of formers etc.?
KNS is online now Find More Posts by KNS
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Latest concluded projects
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:08 PM
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Joined Dec 2003
1,285 Posts