SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 28, 2006, 01:20 AM
2 Mistakes Downwind
Portland, OR
Joined Nov 2004
414 Posts
Discussion
What does "crack" mean? (balsa)

Yes, I am a total balsa newbie. Approaching 32 years of age and I finally decide it's time to start building balsa models. Anyway, I have this small rubber powered model kit here, and reading the instructions I notice "crack here" in a few places. What does this mean?

Are there any good resources on the web for balsa building newbies?

Thanks for suffering an idiot,
Murray
ToyBoy is offline Find More Posts by ToyBoy
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2006, 02:37 AM
Single-task at best...
Telford, UK
Joined Feb 2000
7,493 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToyBoy

Murray
Murray,

How about this?

http://pldaniels.com/flying/balsa/index.html

tim
tim hooper is offline Find More Posts by tim hooper
Old Jun 28, 2006, 03:00 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,450 Posts
More context might help but "Crack" in building instructions generally means what it does in conventional English. It's probably where there's a sharpish bend in a bit of wood and it means "Make a partial break in the wood by bending it sharply". When you try it you'll find the balsa doesn't completely break but just sort of changes direction . Doing it that way is a lot stronger than the alternative of trying to butt join 2 bits of wood together at an angle.

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Old Jun 28, 2006, 03:46 AM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,703 Posts
Yes. Cut partially through with a razor saw or knife, or juts bend, and soak the join in thin CA...

Generally used to bring the top spar in a wing down to the wingtip smoothly.
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Old Jun 28, 2006, 04:39 AM
Bullhead City Az.
Joined Jun 2006
89 Posts
here's a link i find helpful http://www.airfieldmodels.com/

the wiz
the wiz is offline Find More Posts by the wiz
Old Jun 28, 2006, 07:36 AM