HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 02, 2013, 02:46 AM
TheyreComingToTakeMeAway!
USA, ID, Coeur D'Alene
Joined Dec 2003
5,475 Posts
Mini-Review
IR Tx and Rx kits from Drcmall of Korea

When I saw the DIY kits that Drcmall offered, and the relatively low cost for a fully computerized IR system, i had to jump at the chance. I promptly ordered kits of the transmitter, and a variety of receivers which are 2ch diff thrust, 2ch motor one actuator, and 3ch one motor and 2 actuators.
i also ordered some of the bits and pieces, batteries, connectors, actuators, props. everything came very nicely packaged in their own tiny clear baggies and wrapped in bubble wrap.

because i am relatively new at SMD soldering, he was kind enough to do one receiver and the main board in the transmitter.

one if the items i ordered were micro connectors. i was stunned when i saw just how tiny they really are! i took a picture of one next to the parkzone micro 2 pin connector.

I've already done a few things for pre-assembly, which are nicely outlined on his blog pages. the throttle joystick needs to be modified to make it smooth and not self centering. also required is a little filing of the joystick housings to give full deflection to the pots.

all in all, i am very glad i bought this set, it will surely remain unique at the flying events

more to come as i find my way through the build!
derk is offline Find More Posts by derk
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 02, 2013, 10:51 AM
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Mar 2005
50 Posts
Drcmall

I bought kit and put it into my old GWS transceiver.
It worked well and enjoyed it for several month.
Also , two and three channel receiver were very good .
I made my carbon plane with 2 channel rcvr.
weight : 2.8g
wing span : 13" fuselage length : 11"
diy carbon prop, 10:1 gear (bob saleman) , 10mah lipoly
150ohm actuator with AWG 44.
carbon rod : 0.5mm for wing lib , 0.8mm other parts.
covering :2 micron film

It flies very smooth.
cmkim