SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Old May 16, 2014, 05:46 AM
Joined May 2014
2 Posts
Discussion
DX5e and WIN7 VM Problems

Hi all,

This is my very first post and am a complete newbie to the RC world.

I've recently purchased a 2nd hand DX5e (mode 2 with the input jack on the left) and got a cheap copy of Phoenix v3 from ebay. I have now loaded this onto my Win7 virtual machine and done all the updates it wanted.

I have purchased a cable also from ebay which looks like a 3.5mm double ender(ooh err!) and it plugs into a usb dongle which goes into the PC.

All things light up when plugged into the computer and my handset bleeps and lights up so power isnt an issue.

I look in the VM and I can see the unit has been detected and it is enabled.

I look at the usb hardware items at the bottom right taskbar and open the devices list. I can see an icon called "SAILI Simulator XTR5.5 G2+FMS Controller".
So I guess that looks fine also.

When I fire up Phoenix all I get on the screen is "You cannot calibrate your transmitter because your USB interface is not connected". So I unplug and try again in all sorts of different ways but still the same error message.

Any ideas chaps? Im at a complete loss here.

Cheers
fusion1275 is offline Find More Posts by fusion1275
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2014, 07:05 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,671 Posts
Phoenix works with it's OWN interface which also operates to protect the software against being copied. If your cheap ebay copy didn't come with a Phoenix interface then it was probably a rip-off copy and you were swindled....sorry.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Old May 16, 2014, 07:31 AM
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,376 Posts