HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2011, 05:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
25 Posts
multi wii

no sorry I wasnt planning on changing it in your hex file I need to know what you set it at as default in the arduino sketch it asks you to choose min throttle. like this
/* Set the minimum throttle command sent to the ESC (Electronic Speed Controller)
This is the minimum value that allow motors to run at a idle speed */
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1300 // for Turnigy Plush ESCs 10A
#define MINTHROTTLE 1120 // for Super Simple ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1190
you define the parameter that you wish.I also would like to know how to open your hex and be able to read and set parameters.please
demonova is offline Find More Posts by demonova
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2011, 08:55 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
936 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonova View Post
no sorry I wasnt planning on changing it in your hex file I need to know what you set it at as default in the arduino sketch it asks you to choose min throttle. like this
/* Set the minimum throttle command sent to the ESC (Electronic Speed Controller)
This is the minimum value that allow motors to run at a idle speed */
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1300 // for Turnigy Plush ESCs 10A
#define MINTHROTTLE 1120 // for Super Simple ESCs 10A
//#define MINTHROTTLE 1190
you define the parameter that you wish.I also would like to know how to open your hex and be able to read and set parameters.please
Assuming your clocks aren't too far off, MINTHROTTLE 1120 should be fine. What I meant before is that it should start at 1060us, but you'll want it a bit higher so that it's not jittering between on and off. Just download the source from github at https://github.com/sim-/tgy/downloads (download as zip or download as tar.gz), and then open up "tgy.asm" in an editor, and at the top you'll see the defaults (which haven't changed for a while other than MIN_DUTY).
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2011, 02:35 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2002
1,475 Posts
Just found a 12A ESC that uses Atmel 8 here:
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dye-1014-12a-esc.html

Neal
Nobert is offline Find More Posts by Nobert
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2011, 06:34 PM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,038 Posts
That is where I got the Exceed R/C ones. Do you have these in hand and can confirm the chip? Do they have pads?

The price is sure right, I may have to order some. Thanks Neal.

Rob...
mxspode is offline Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2011, 06:43 PM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
i am currently running the 12-october fw on my hw 18amp escs, i cant secide if they are running hotter then stock so i am wondering if i should revert to the older tgy.hex. Any thoughts?

cheers

Josh
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2011, 07:08 PM
Registered User
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxspode View Post
That is where I got the Exceed R/C ones. Do you have these in hand and can confirm the chip? Do they have pads?

The price is sure right, I may have to order some. Thanks Neal.

Rob...
I can't confirm anything on the 12A, but I know the 25A still has the Atmel8 chip in them. It's all I use on all my quads and it works great out of box with the throttle calibration. Got a set of 4 more 3 weeks ago to add to my collection and they are still Atmel8 chips
firepong is offline Find More Posts by firepong
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 01:07 AM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,038 Posts
Yea, I use the 18's and they are the same thing. I would rather not lug around an over sized ESC if I don't have to. the 12's are plenty for my setup that is why I am looking. Hopefully these will do the job. I will not miss the noise from stock ones at all.

Rob...
mxspode is offline Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 02:00 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Hi, Jakub! I don't have any RCTimer or TowerPro ESCs to test with, but I think it should work. Depending on the age, they are probably one of the usual TowerPro type1 ("tp.inc"), type 2 ("tgy.inc"), or type 3 ("tp_nfet.inc") pinouts....
Hi

I'm after first flying with TowerPro MAG 8 12A ESCs with tgy firmware.
Results is amazing My motors are way from parfrection (after some crash )
not-ballanced propellers and quad is flying perfect - ZERO vibrations,
very stable in air. I increased P (MultiWii) from 4 to 8 - still zero problems,
no oscilation etc.

Thanks guys

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 02:09 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Yep, doubled P on my ESC as well - much faster response, no oscillations even on falling down flight.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 07:49 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
Hi

I'm after first flying with TowerPro MAG 8 12A ESCs with tgy firmware.
Results is amazing My motors are way from parfrection (after some crash )
not-ballanced propellers and quad is flying perfect - ZERO vibrations,
very stable in air. I increased P (MultiWii) from 4 to 8 - still zero problems,
no oscilation etc.

Thanks guys

q
Sounds nice! I will try to find some of these ESCs.

I just ordered some HobbyWing Flyfun:s, and got 6 little things with SiLab chips. I will try them out, but I really liked how the stability improved using the custom firmware on my RCTimer ESCs.

When holding the tricopter, with some throttle, this is what it feels like when I tilt it:
- Original firmware: Like I'm pressing it down on a layer of 15 cm really soft foam.
- New firmware: Like it's resting on a table with 2 cm soft rubber.
XDreamer is offline Find More Posts by XDreamer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:25 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,665 Posts
Hi TC,
What FCB's and firmware were you using?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
Yep, doubled P on my ESC as well - much faster response, no oscillations even on falling down flight.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:39 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
I guess same thing Jacub is using, multiwii on my stm8 board. Doubling the P results in much more throttle response, but since the reflashed esc can keep up with it, it turns in better control.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 09:00 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,742 Posts
I'm using our MWii controller:
http://quadframe.com/collections/fro...roducts/mwii01

I flew before moment with P = 12 Zero problems

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 09:03 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,742 Posts
Do you know any good ESCs compatible with this firmware
for 2S LiPo, small and maximum 3-4 g heavy?

I'm thinking about small FPV beast

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 09:41 AM
Registered User
NW England
Joined Jul 2005
620 Posts
Thanks Nek and Simon and everyone else involved in this thread!

I got my stock rctimer 18a ESCs finally hooked up to my motor (Keda hacker style 20-28m) and everything mounted onto my frame. Powered up with one esc/motor combo hooked into the throttle channel of my rx, set end points and throttled up a bit... horrible horrible noise was the result. Sounded like grinding... checked the other motors, same thing. Checked the motors, fine. Checked the frame, fine nothing rubbing. Tried many combos of ESC settings with the programming card... little better but still awful noise and at mid throttle you can hear them 'wobbling' their speed.

So I tried an old 10a plush on the motor and it when throttled up, sweet as anything! So faulty ESCs I thought. Before I junked them I thought I'd try the new firmware first. Programmed them up, throttle up and they sound and run beautifully!!!

So thanks for saving me $45!!! Also love the retro roboty beeps they make now!

Ben.
ben123 is offline Find More Posts by ben123
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 03:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 10:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 10:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 03:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 03:31 PM