New Products Flash Sale
Old May 20, 2015, 12:53 PM
Find More Posts by UofUDavid
United States, UT, Bountiful
Joined Nov 2014
20 Posts
Discussion
New boater ~ next boat hull question.

I am new to boating. I have a couple FT007s and FT009s that my children and I have been loving. We are looking to step up to a faster brushless mono hull.

I have been on Banggood looking at either the , FT012, Joysway Super Mono X, or DTRC Mini Little Pepper.

Would rather spend a little more for quality if the Mono and Pepper are better than the FT012.

Mono X comes RTR with battery and radio
Motor: 2812-2950KV

Pepper will require a transmitter/receiver and batteries.
Motor: 2040KV3100

Is the fiberglass hull on the Pepper better than the plastic hull on the Mono X?

What transmitter/receiver would work for the Pepper so I could have it running when it arrives?

Does the Pepper have a better motor?

Should I just save my money and get the FT 012?

Thank you,
David
UofUDavid is offline Find More Posts by UofUDavid
to remove ads between posts
Old May 20, 2015, 04:17 PM
Find More Posts by pompebled
Boaters are nice people.
Sneek, Netherlands.
Joined May 2004
5,545 Posts
Hi David,

Both boats are entry level and come with relative cheap motors (and other hardware) to keep the price down.

The Little Pepper, with it's GRP hull is a nice starting point and (in the hands of a skilled competition pilot, like in the video) performs really well.

Be aware of the fact "there's no such thing as ready to run", getting the boat ready for the water (without sinking at the first outing) is your job, make sure all bolts are tight and watertight and set-up the running gear correctly.

Notice the difference in running attitude in the two video's, the first one is the 'promotional' video with a well dialed in boat and an experienced driver:
DTRC Mini Little Pepper RC Brushless Boat M445 - Banggood.com (5 min 29 sec)