HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 09, 2013, 06:47 AM
Joined Sep 2013
8 Posts
Discussion
Fill Me In

Hi guys,

So this weekend I got my first hexacopter flying with the Turnigy Talon frame.

Needless to say, being a new hexacopter pilot, I crashed it and destroyed the frame. I finished tearing it all apart yesterday, luckily everything else is in good shape.

Anyhow, I decided to go a bit bigger/better for the next frame, and ordered it last night: http://www.vulcanuav.com/multiframe-Octo.html

That being said, at this point I am $1300 into this hexacopter (now octocopter), and I really can't stand to crash it again. What flight controller can you recommend that is good for beginners, that help keep me from over powering it and crashing?

I was looking at this all in one system, it has everything I want towards the end anyway: http://www.dji.com/product/naza-m-v2/

Is that a good one? Will it be good for a beginner? If not, what else would be good?

Last question, on my previous 600mm frame, I had 12" props. What should I put on this 1200mm octocopter?

Thanks guys.
Incisus is offline Find More Posts by Incisus
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 09, 2013, 10:58 AM
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Oct 2012
158 Posts
Naza -M is good but propellers will be determined by your motors esc's and battery your using. I take it your using a couple big 4s batteries to fuel this monster your building? Your esc are 30 or 40 amp?? Motor size??

You would be further ahead if you slow down and get a cheap good flying Quad like F450 with Naza-M and learn to fly it and wreck it and rebuild it while getting things down cheaper and easier to rebuild.

I did the same thing. Going in big and built a few hexacopters, crashed them. Then figured out that the Tri-Copter is were its at, less to fail, flys great, good FPV plateform. Can always add more motors and turn it into a Hexacopter top and bottom motors.