SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 20, 2015, 06:37 AM
Find More Posts by mildman
Joined May 2015
7 Posts
Question
Camera Boat project help needed 4ch/6ch & servos confusion?

Hi All,
Camera Boat project help needed – 4ch/6ch & servos confusion?
I am very new to RC and am really enjoying these forums for help and understanding.
I won’t bore you with too many detail of the project but a little info might help you help me :-)

I’m trying building a craft that is able to mount a GoPro underneath and film beneath a wildlife packed pond with good control over it. Pic is attached of an early concept which was too tall, way under-powered and had virtually no steering, but the idea was taking shape and it kinda showed me that something like this is possible.
I've proved the filming concept in a simple way, by having a floating device and dragging it through the pond (
Swimming With Tadpoles (0 min 51 sec)
) but I want steering and camera panning below the water if possible too.
No FPV is required; it’s a small pond and will be in eyeball range at all times

Soooo, this is what I have in mind…I've settled for an Styrofoam airboat design and at a sensible place for good balance, place a plastic threaded shaft through the hull to allow GoPro mounting beneath the craft. Camera panning would be from a servo driving this shaft from the deck...i hope that makes sense. See diagram below.
This is where my lack of experience is getting me stuck; in no particular order, these are my questions that will help me understand whether this is a real possibility or not.

1) Is an Airboat the appropriate boat for this purpose?
2) Does 4 channels mean left, right, throttle forward and throttle backwards? If so, I can’t control the 2nd servo as I have a 4ch transmitter.
3) Is it realistic to expect a servo to turn a shaft through the boat with a camera on the end….is that too much load for a servo?

Anyway, I hope someone might be able to help.
mildman is offline Find More Posts by mildman