Thread Tools
Old Feb 10, 2016, 09:18 AM
TOMZILLA is offline
Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Foam Connoisseur
TOMZILLA's Avatar
United States, PA, Old Forge
Joined Apr 2014
856 Posts
I don't think a prop shouldn't be that much of a concern. Folding props are a dime a dozen, you don't have to buy it from HK.
TOMZILLA is offline Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2016, 09:29 AM
ppridday is offline
Find More Posts by ppridday
Breaker of Things
ppridday's Avatar
United States, MN, Detroit Lakes
Joined Mar 2005
423 Posts
I've swapped mine out to an aluminum spinner and carbon prop(s). Still have two of the stock prop/spinner combos.
ppridday is offline Find More Posts by ppridday
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 09:38 AM
TOMZILLA is offline
Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Foam Connoisseur
TOMZILLA's Avatar
United States, PA, Old Forge
Joined Apr 2014
856 Posts
From whats been said of the stock motor, it seems they burn up. So most will either change or have changed there motor. If that is the case here is a prop that will work, 11x6 in stock at HK, but you will most likely need a better motor then stock. Being the kit didn't come with a motor, those that bought them would probably be putting in a quality motor anyway.


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...11x6_1pc_.html
TOMZILLA is offline Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 09:53 AM
ppridday is offline
Find More Posts by ppridday
Breaker of Things
ppridday's Avatar
United States, MN, Detroit Lakes
Joined Mar 2005
423 Posts
I've actually got plenty of time on my stock motor. I think that they have done an upgrade already from the original stock units.

P.
ppridday is offline Find More Posts by ppridday
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 09:56 AM
TOMZILLA is offline
Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Foam Connoisseur
TOMZILLA's Avatar
United States, PA, Old Forge
Joined Apr 2014
856 Posts
Sounds great, I remember reading something about bad motors. That's good if they upgraded them, some manufacturers don't want to be bothered upgrading even if its a known issue.
TOMZILLA is offline Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Last edited by TOMZILLA; Feb 10, 2016 at 09:57 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 12:53 PM
TOMZILLA is offline
Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Foam Connoisseur
TOMZILLA's Avatar
United States, PA, Old Forge
Joined Apr 2014
856 Posts
Not sure if it helps anyone or not, but I have a Firstar V2 and here are some pics of the wing and tail.
TOMZILLA is offline Find More Posts by TOMZILLA
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 03:40 PM
Pilot A is offline
Find More Posts by Pilot A
Registered User
Pilot A's Avatar
United States, MD, Balt
Joined Sep 2014
49 Posts
Spare Tail Parts Needed

Fellow Pilots,
I am looking for the parts in the photo. If you have a crashed bird with these parts, let me know...

Lou
Pilot A is offline Find More Posts by Pilot A
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 08:34 PM
BilleFly is offline
Find More Posts by BilleFly
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofpd9330 View Post
Not sure if it helps anyone or not, but I have a Firstar V2 and here are some pics of the wing and tail.
They look really close to the P2K !! What is the length of the cord ; LE
to TE at the wing center ?

Bille
BilleFly is offline Find More Posts by BilleFly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2016, 10:46 PM
Kenniffs is offline
Find More Posts by Kenniffs
Chch, NZ
Senegal, KÚdougou
Joined Mar 2012
330 Posts
I have both the FPVRaptor V2 and the Phoenix 2000.
I can confirm 100% that they are the same wing/tail sets.
This was one of the reasons I brought the FPVRaptor (which turned out to be a bad mistake), I figured the interchangeability of the wing sets would be a good thing so I only had to carry one spare wing set in my workshop.
Turned out I needed a few more than that due to the horrible tendencies of the Raptor to tip stall. I went through a few wing sets on the Raptor till I started making my own.
If you want a really good FPV plane that has no bad habits go for the Mini Talon by X-UAV -but I digress from the topic in hand...
Kenniffs is offline Find More Posts by Kenniffs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2016, 11:00 PM
Grantham Kid is online now
Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
Chasin' that Neon Rainbow
Grantham Kid's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Grantham
Joined Oct 2012
4,877 Posts
I have the V1 Raptor and I have flown it for a couple of years and never noticed a tendency to tip stall, ever. I have always used flaps.
Tip stall is caused by insufficient flying speed.
Grantham Kid is online now Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: A bit about me
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2016, 01:58 AM
Rollmops67 is offline
Find More Posts by Rollmops67
Eternal beginner
Rollmops67's Avatar
France, Alsace, Strasbourg
Joined Jun 2012
705 Posts
Flaperons instead of aileron + flaps

Hello !
I just got my Phoenix 2000, it arrived in good chape, so I just have to assemble it.

I have a question : of course I can install ailerons and separated flaps, but having in mind saving a little weight I'm asking myself to just install ailerons and program them to work as flaps for the landings.
My question is : did somebody here do that on the Phoenix 2000 and is it efficient enough ?
Sorry if it has been answered elsewhere, but I'm only on page 200 of 587 in this thread !

TIA for your answers.

Roland.

P.S.
As a side note : I have a trainer plane, a Trainstar tough trainer (see here : http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1835176) and it appears it's not only from the same brand (Volantex) but the motor (4023 850 KV) and the ESC are the same too !)
Rollmops67 is offline Find More Posts by Rollmops67
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2016, 02:18 AM
headlessagain is online now
Find More Posts by headlessagain
Reap the wild wind
headlessagain's Avatar
Bristol,UK
Joined Feb 2007
6,143 Posts
I'd opt for using the ailerons as spoilerons (both going up) rather than flaps. Less likely to damage them on landing if you don't flip the switch just prior to touchdown. Slows my non flap equiped gliders down nicely. Just check out the very end of this video which shows the Speedo Pro landing
Speedo Pro 2 RC glider (3 min 53 sec)

Whatever you do be aware that deploying spoilerons or flaps will need elevator compensation so always try for the first time at height

Andy
headlessagain is online now Find More Posts by headlessagain
Last edited by headlessagain; Feb 12, 2016 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2016, 04:00 AM
Kenniffs is offline
Find More Posts by Kenniffs
Chch, NZ
Senegal, KÚdougou
Joined Mar 2012
330 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantham Kid View Post
Tip stall is caused by insufficient flying speed.
Agreed: it's just that when the Raptor V2 stalls you will be very lucky to pull out of the death spin.
Not like the Phoenix, can put that into a stall on purpose and it recovers really nice...same wing, different fuselages (V2's a bit shorter main wing to tail than the Phoenix), weight distributions, etc.
I would never consider stalling the Raptor V2 just for fun!
The mini talon can do it all, cruise at 50km/hr pulling 3-4A on 4S, crack 120km/hr when you want it to, will fly nice and slow and won't drop out of the sky if you turn while you are going slow.
It just inspires so much more confidence you can relax into it...
Kenniffs is offline Find More Posts by Kenniffs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2016, 06:28 AM
BilleFly is offline
Find More Posts by BilleFly
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollmops67 View Post
...
I have a question : of course I can install ailerons and separated flaps, but having in mind saving a little weight I'm asking myself to just install ailerons and program them to work as flaps for the landings.

...
BAD IDEA !!

The little extra weight of adding a flap servo , (is well worth it).
Placing down-flap on just the aileron , will actually make stall Worst
at low speed, because the tips are now washed IN.

Adding a bit of down-flap, (to the flap) without doing so to the aileron
will make the center section stall First , and the tips stall last
at low speed, because the center-section is now flying at a Higher AOA
causing it to stall First , (which ADDS stability and Drag).

You could make both flap and aileron work as flapperon with one
servo ; but you still don't get that washout you get by separating
the two. The washout , (or twist) is where the stability comes from ; and slows the
wing down considerably.

Bille
BilleFly is offline Find More Posts by BilleFly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2016, 08:43 AM
Rollmops67 is offline
Find More Posts by Rollmops67
Eternal beginner
Rollmops67's Avatar
France, Alsace, Strasbourg
Joined Jun 2012
705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BilleFly View Post
BAD IDEA !!

...
Placing down-flap on just the aileron , will actually make stall Worst
at low speed, because the tips are now washed IN.

Adding a bit of down-flap, (to the flap) without doing so to the aileron
will make the center section stall First , and the tips stall last
at low speed, because the center-section is now flying at a Higher AOA
causing it to stall First , (which ADDS stability and Drag)
...

Bille
Thank you Bille.
That makes sense, so I think I will install the 2 servos to maneuver the real flaps.

Have nice flights and smooth landings !

Roland
Rollmops67 is offline Find More Posts by Rollmops67
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ohhh noo, 2nd flight on the HobbyKing Phoenix 2000 KillerCut Electric Sailplanes 18 Nov 18, 2015 06:33 AM
For Sale HK Phoenix 2000 glider blk822 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Aug 23, 2011 07:21 PM
Discussion Still having electric problems with my hobbyking Phoenix 2000, Crashvideo kyrkbymannen Electric Sailplanes 3 Jul 09, 2011 07:34 PM
Discussion hobby king Phoenix 2000 EPO Composite R/C Glider doomracing Electric Sailplanes 3 May 31, 2011 10:09 PM