Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Old Feb 28, 2016, 03:44 PM
Find More Posts by Wildvortex
United States, SC, Anderson
Joined Feb 2016
84 Posts
Discussion
Largest battery that will fit in a V977

I am new to RC aircraft so I figured I would jump in with both feet. I bought a V977 CO helicopter. I have not gotten it yet but want the most flight time. What is the largest battery that will fit. I think read somewhere that a turgeny 720mAh battery will fit if you remove the tabs. Will a 620 mAh Lipo fit?
Wildvortex is offline Find More Posts by Wildvortex
Last edited by Wildvortex; Feb 28, 2016 at 03:45 PM. Reason: Misspelling
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 29, 2016, 01:08 PM
Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
15,045 Posts
Personally i'd stick with a stock battery (450mAh?) size or one close to it. As a rule the guys who design these helis come up with a battery size for good reasons, it's a mistake to think that a bigger battery is automatically better. Much larger batteries make the heli overweight and unbalanced and have a big impact on performance. The added weight also makes the heli more likely to damage itself in a crash (and you will crash).
The increase in flight time you get is less than you might expect because you have to use more power to lug the heavy battery into the air.

Better IMHO to just buy more of the smaller batteries then you get the best of both worlds, good performance AND plenty of flight time (the only take a few moments to swap).
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Old Mar 20, 2016, 07:55 AM
Joined Feb 2016
84 Posts
Thank you. I guess a bunch of batteries and a good charger are in order.
Old Mar 20, 2016, 12:38 PM
Find More Posts by denis747
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Nov 2015
598 Posts
A good charger, parallel charge them, and you'll have lots of flights.
denis747 is offline Find More Posts by denis747
Old Mar 20, 2016, 04:07 PM