SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 27, 2015, 09:57 AM
Joined Feb 2015
3 Posts
Discussion
Large Scale Huey Cobra

Thanks for reading post as I'm new to the website..first post. I've been flying r/c helicopters for a few years and have begun to love it..I started with a big lama coaxial, and now have two blade helicopters..(130 and 200). I recently made a purchase because I couldn't turn down the price. I bought a Huey Cobra that had been sitting on a hobby stores shelf doing nothing more than collecting dust. Large unit..60" with Webra .61 rear exhaust, with servos, and an incredible paint job. Turns out this unit was a demo model for Century and never flown..GMP mechanics that are very tight, engine never broken in, clutch brand new..everything just dusty. The helicopter is actually pictured on Century website..Army cobra with red/white paint scheme. Amazing how well the heli looks, and the fact it's never been flown. My question that brought me here is the heli is true scale, no flybar...but a follower is used with swashplate. I'm unfamiliar with this. It will need a tail gyro, but will the lack of flybar and a followe in its place make this heli too difficult to fly? I don't do any crazy 3D flying..just buzz it around.
tjk1812 is offline Find More Posts by tjk1812
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2015, 10:12 AM
Love my scale Whirlybirds
Mississauga, Ont., Can.
Joined Sep 2009
2,539 Posts
Nice purchase. Yes, you have a flybarless setup but your typical gyro will not help you as a relatively new flyer to be able to keep the helicopter stable in flight. I would look at a gyro like the Spektrum AR7200BX which is the receiver and three axis gyro all rolled into one. If you have a Futaba system, then look at their latest 3 axis gyro (don't know the number offhand). You can also look at something like the Skookum SK720 as an alternative that can work with most transmitter/receiver combos.