HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2012, 07:36 AM
Joined Oct 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Does this look like a good set up?

Hi, I'm new to RC planes and thought I will build myself this plane http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=407323

The thing is I was thinking of going with a different motor. The setup I chose for this plane would be:
The motor:
http://www.hobbypartz.com/98p-mars-b...20a-combo.html
It draws 18 amp and it is matched with a 20amps esc
The battery that I would get for it would be:
http://www.hobbypartz.com/77p-sl1300-3s1p-20c-3333.html
It's a 1300Mha 3s 20C that gives me 26amp

Did I match it correctly?
Also my plane will most likely be a bit heavier than the one in the original build due to the fact I would be using EPP from homedepot
I would appreciate any tips and sugestions
filek is offline Find More Posts by filek
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 08:22 AM
buyer of the farm
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Mar 2009
4,178 Posts
That plane in a beginner's hands is a five second flight. This is for an advanced flier.

You need to begin to fly RC with a plane you can succeed with. You need to plan for the fact that you will crash. You would be best served by purchasing a three channel trainer aircraft, totally ready to fly, slow enough to give you a chance to react rather than anticipate flight characteristics, with a full inventory of spare parts available for a decent price, and with a record of teaching hundreds of unassisted people how to fly, with a dedicated thread here or another internet RC forum for and by fellow beginners flying this plane.

About the only planes that qualify are
  • Hobby Zone Champ RTF
  • Hobby Zone Super Cub
  • Multiplex Easy Star II
  • Parkzone Radian (if you are interested in sailplanes)