HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 19, 2011, 02:45 AM
Gliding like a rock!
Baltimore, MD
Joined Apr 2007
241 Posts
Discussion
Need help with my first composite project.

Hey guys,
I'm interested in using an EPS foam kit plane ( http://www.bananahobby.com/2100.html ) to create molds from, & then of course use the molds to build the plane out of carbon, Kevlar, or whatever is most appropriate. I have no experience with composites but I am quite handy & with a little guidance I know I can pull this off.

I'd like to use the bladder-assisted method described several threads down. I need help finding info on How to build the molds proper, and I also would like to know of any special considerations you think would apply to this A-10 airframe. Things an amature like me may not even think to ask about. I'm using the search function for all its worth but any assistance you can provide for me to get started on the right foot would be greatly appreciated. If you were going to tackle this project, how would you do it?

Thanks in advance!
Oreo is offline Find More Posts by Oreo
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2011, 03:01 AM
Gliding like a rock!
Baltimore, MD
Joined Apr 2007
241 Posts
More thoughts:
I've ordered the kit & when it arrives I'll post pics of all the individual parts of the airframe for your consideration. However, I was thinking of doing the fusilage as one piece since it would be easily work with the inflation bladder technique. I'm thinking of cutting the wing lengthwise & making it in two long sections that when glued together, the walls that mate will form the spar. Control surfaces will have to be molded separately of course. The nacelles will be done as separate piece(s), as well as the tail sections.
Old May 23, 2011, 06:23 AM
Father of Fr3aK, DLG Pilot
USA, OH, Worthington
Joined May 2002
6,711 Posts