SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jul 03, 2014, 07:55 AM
Registered User
Canada, NL, Conception Bay South
Joined Jun 2012
102 Posts
Yes...so, maybe EMI? If so, what would be some suggestions for elimination?

Jim
Newfie Pilot is offline Find More Posts by Newfie Pilot
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2014, 06:24 AM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,306 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfie Pilot View Post
Yes...so, maybe EMI? If so, what would be some suggestions for elimination?

Jim
Hi Jim,

L/C-Filter for video power supply or 2nd battery for video power shall solve your problem.

cu Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2014, 07:18 AM
Registered User
Canada, NL, Conception Bay South
Joined Jun 2012
102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thint1 View Post
Hi Jim,

L/C-Filter for video power supply or 2nd battery for video power shall solve your problem.

cu Thomas
Thanks for your suggestion...I am already using a second battery for the video Tx...Looking back at past video, I noticed that this problem was not there one day and then there the next despite no changes being made to the setup that I can recall...I thought that maybe I had the OSD mounted to close to the motor, however now that I looked back and noticed that I was not having this problem with the exact same location, leads me to think that it must be something else. Any other suggestions would be helpful. I would poist a pic of the setup but I am at work and do not get back home until 9 July.

Jim
Newfie Pilot is offline Find More Posts by Newfie Pilot
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2014, 08:03 AM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,306 Posts
Hi Jim,

sometimes a combination of black and white level settings cause issues in the overlay ....
normally, a black level of 4 or higher and a white level of 7 or lower should be used.

cu Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2014, 10:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsowder View Post
Is anyone having compatibility issues with Windows 8.1. I can't get it to work on my new Dell Venue 11 Pro. It works intermittently, but most of the time doesn't recognize that the OSD Pro is plugged in.

Thanks,
Randy
this fixed it for me...
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2900614
Marty Fufkin is offline Find More Posts by Marty Fufkin
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 04:33 AM
Registered User
Lower Blue Mountains, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
344 Posts
Quick question: can the OSD pro system support a camera switcher? Say to switch video input between gopro live out and a fpv camera? Or will it restart when the change takes place? Will the telemetry to the ground station continue as normal?
Dr. |2udie is offline Find More Posts by Dr. |2udie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2014, 09:41 AM
JohnET's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Apr 2013
435 Posts
Hello,

Yes, a video switcher can be used with no issue. FYI, all switchers are not created equally. I have had issues with some brands but not others.

Regards, John
JohnET is offline Find More Posts by JohnET
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2014, 01:37 PM
Registered User
Canada, NL, Conception Bay South
Joined Jun 2012
102 Posts
OSD Pro From Eagle Tree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfie Pilot View Post
Anyone able to offer a suggestion as to what is causing the "shakiness" of the OSD display, as demonstrated in this video? Am running the OSD Pro with eLogger v4 on a VWinRC 550 traditional heli.



http://youtu.be/xMPQgNvuLjM

Solved the shaky video problem. I'm guessing it was EMI, as once I moved the OSD Pro module AWAY from the 550 motor, it went away.

Jim
Newfie Pilot is offline Find More Posts by Newfie Pilot
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2014, 01:16 AM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Just thought I would try this thread as no one answered twice on another one but more appropriate here. Guess I will not get a Guardian if I can not get this question answered.

FOLLOWING IS WHAT I ASKED:


I know it is a dumb question and below all the technical information here but can anyone answer the following question. I have read the instructions but mainly explains what happens when connected to an elogger.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have an Eagletree OSD and a OSD Pro, Elogger 3, GPS all over 5 years old but never used them.

Just wondered if anyone can advise what can an OSD and an OSD Pro do any thing without connecting the ELogger?

Thanks
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2014, 05:15 AM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Thunder Bay District
Joined Apr 2007
715 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepower View Post
Just thought I would try this thread as no one answered twice on another one but more appropriate here. Guess I will not get a Guardian if I can not get this question answered.

FOLLOWING IS WHAT I ASKED:


I know it is a dumb question and below all the technical information here but can anyone answer the following question. I have read the instructions but mainly explains what happens when connected to an elogger.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have an Eagletree OSD and a OSD Pro, Elogger 3, GPS all over 5 years old but never used them.

Just wondered if anyone can advise what can an OSD and an OSD Pro do any thing without connecting the ELogger?

Thanks
If I understand your question properly you're asking if the OSD and OSD Pro can function without the ELogger. As far as I know they get their power from the logger. You have the logger so why wouldn't you use it?
Fast Guy is offline Find More Posts by Fast Guy
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2014, 03:25 PM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,306 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepower View Post
Just thought I would try this thread as no one answered twice on another one but more appropriate here. Guess I will not get a Guardian if I can not get this question answered.

FOLLOWING IS WHAT I ASKED:


I know it is a dumb question and below all the technical information here but can anyone answer the following question. I have read the instructions but mainly explains what happens when connected to an elogger.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have an Eagletree OSD and a OSD Pro, Elogger 3, GPS all over 5 years old but never used them.

Just wondered if anyone can advise what can an OSD and an OSD Pro do any thing without connecting the ELogger?

Thanks
Hi F.

NOTHING !!!

osd: generates overlay (visualisation of the telemetry data) and calculates stabilisation, return to home course and height (with the use of telemetry data)
logger: telemetry sampling and data logger

you see without the telemetry (elogger and connected units like gps, ...) the osd is useless ....

cu Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2014, 06:24 AM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Thanks Thomas

There is never enough hours in a day to do everything and with FPV the OSDs have not been important. That is until now seeing I have got the FPV gear going good. I have just put an AP117 in a SkyWalker X5 and the $24 HK OSD with GPS in a BIxler 2.

Both of those have two GPss on them as I have Turnigy T1000FS auto-pilots but now I should spend some time and try an integrated full system like the EagleTree gear.

Thanks again .
Col


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thint1 View Post
Hi F.

NOTHING !!!

osd: generates overlay (visualisation of the telemetry data) and calculates stabilisation, return to home course and height (with the use of telemetry data)
logger: telemetry sampling and data logger

you see without the telemetry (elogger and connected units like gps, ...) the osd is useless ....

cu Thomas
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2014, 05:25 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Just always something else to do with planes and now quads and never got to the ELogger etc as it seemed complicated to attach to a computer and set up. But I understand now it is really simple.

It is like if you have not set up a Naze32 board for a quad it may seem involved but I can do that in under 5 minutes now and they fly great.

Thanks - just have to stop playing with my Blackout quad for a while and get to the EagleTree gear.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Guy View Post
If I understand your question properly you're asking if the OSD and OSD Pro can function without the ELogger. As far as I know they get their power from the logger. You have the logger so why wouldn't you use it?
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2014, 10:41 PM
Registered User
Jamaica, Saint Catherine Parish, Portmore
Joined Jan 2014
6 Posts
Hi my x8 keep death spiral after reaching home on rth

Any suggestion?

Best regards Donald
fpvja is offline Find More Posts by fpvja
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product OSD PRO from Eagle Tree (RTH, AHI, Waypoints, Variometer, Voice, now shipping) billpa FPV Equipment 11316 Sep 08, 2014 05:02 AM
New Product OSD from Eagle Tree with logging/Google Earth support billpa FPV Talk 552 Apr 28, 2009 12:21 PM
Discussion New Video On-Screen Display (OSD) Expander from Eagle Tree - $44.99 billpa Aerial Photography 0 Jun 08, 2008 10:30 AM
Pro Data Acquisition Systems now available from Eagle Tree billpa Product Announcements 0 Aug 02, 2005 12:56 PM
New USB data logger accessories and Holiday specials from Eagle Tree Systems billpa Product Announcements 0 Nov 08, 2003 12:51 PM