SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 21, 2009, 08:27 PM
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
United States, GA, Woodstock
Joined Jan 2007
6,800 Posts
Discussion
One battery to power everything ?

Ild like to set up my ez star with one battery to power the tx,cam and plane functions(motor,rx). Can this be done and if so what is required?
GoldCraft is offline Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:17 PM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
I got my answers here.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1129952
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
1,530 Posts
depending on your gear you'll need various up/down voltage converter
eg if you run 3S, go for a 12v camera (so u dont need conversion), and a 12vol transmitter for video (same reason)
then get some down converter for the OSD which prolly runs on 5 or 7v
wire stuff in parallel
you might need some additional filters before tx, camera, etc

ppl will correct me if im wrong xD
jimbob00 is offline Find More Posts by jimbob00
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:22 PM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
I have my whole plane (except Radio Rx and servos) on 12V.

That's OSD Pro, ELogger, GPS, Speed Sensor and Alt sensor... 900Mhz Video TX, camera, Mic...

The rest I connect to a separate BEC... Radio Rx, Servos, Gyro...

I have a filter filtering noise from the AV stuff. (So no ESC on the power line from the BEC to my video harness.
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:24 PM
BEOWULF
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,814 Posts
be carefull with that set up

because you will need 12 volts or higher to put out 12 volts to the camera and video tx

if you run a 4 cell as an example it wold work much better





Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob00 View Post
depending on your gear you'll need various up/down voltage converter
eg if you run 3S, go for a 12v camera (so u dont need conversion), and a 12vol transmitter for video (same reason)
then get some down converter for the OSD which prolly runs on 5 or 7v
wire stuff in parallel
you might need some additional filters before tx, camera, etc

ppl will correct me if im wrong xD
David22 is online now Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:31 PM
Registered User
PeteSchug's Avatar
Elmhurst, NY (Queens in NYC)
Joined Apr 2004
7,061 Posts
I've always used 3S and taken 5v for my camera and tx directly from the ESC via an unused servo connection. For a long time I flew with only a 50 mW tx, but I went to 200 mW on my Easy Star. Hmm... Did I use straight 3S on the EZ*??? Can't remember!

Most of my flying has been with a pico tiger moth, so I had to go light. I still have the EZ* but seldom use it since I can fly the tiger moth anywhere and I need a decent place to land for the EZ.

Never had a hint of a problem.

Pete
PeteSchug is offline Find More Posts by PeteSchug
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:39 PM
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
United States, GA, Woodstock
Joined Jan 2007
6,800 Posts
Sorry , should have said what system.

RV 900mh 500mw
Cam will be powered off the tx.
No OSD

The tx is powered by 12v so it should be good to go with the same 3s lipo that the motor/rx uses.

Cralis, I saw that thread and thats where I got the idea.....but I want to take it one step further and power everything. Should only need a filter on the tx power line ?

David, I can do a 4s with the ESC I have but wouldnt I need to step down for the tx? I do see your point and this does seem like a better one battery setup.

Thanks guys
GoldCraft is offline Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Last edited by GoldCraft; Nov 21, 2009 at 09:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:51 PM
BEOWULF
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,814 Posts
thats why you use the linear power supply set to 12 volts

if camera and video tx is 12 volts

It's not a step up converter it reglulates down instead

you will, if you have a 3 cell set up for sure bring your volts below 12 and thus camera and video tx will follow that voltage

it will still work BUT performance will not be as good because of the lower voltage

with 4 cells as main battery chances are you will not go below 12 volts unless you run a very powerfull set up and the short bursts from the throttle momentarily bring it dowm to 4 volts

If your camera and video tx are 5 volts just plug them into the planes rx for power

Your whole fpv system will work much better if you use only one battery that is a 4 cell instead of the 3 cell, unless you have a 5 volt camera and 5 volt video tx, then 3 cell is ok
David22 is online now Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 10:13 PM
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
United States, GA, Woodstock
Joined Jan 2007
6,800 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by David22 View Post
thats why you use the linear power supply set to 12 volts
got a link to one....thanks
GoldCraft is offline Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 10:44 PM
Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Yass
Joined Dec 2007
7,820 Posts
I have 2 planes with one battery for everything!! 12V Camera, TX, Mic and OSD! So all good. You do get some lines on the screen from your motor, but when you are looking through the prop, it don't matter!!
The_Mongrel is offline Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 11:58 PM
BEOWULF
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,814 Posts
I am pretty sure Thomas made those lineary power suppies they are sold on the RV web site
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldCraft View Post
got a link to one....thanks
David22 is online now Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Keychine & Spy Gum Internal Power & external Reciver power ..ALL IN ONE guyg Aerial Photography 3 Nov 03, 2009 08:18 AM
For Sale Thunder Power Prolite 2s2p 4200mAh x2 can become one 4s2p 4200mAh LiPo Battery shschon Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Dec 12, 2008 05:06 PM
For Sale Thunder Power Prolite 2s2p 4200mAh x2 can become one 4s2p 4200mAh LiPo Battery shschon Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Nov 09, 2008 01:20 AM
For Sale Thunder Power Prolite 2s2p 4200mAh x2 can become one 4s2p 4200mAh LiPo Battery shschon Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Oct 01, 2008 06:37 AM
Sold For Sale Complete Power System including servos everything except battery jaywebguy Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Mar 19, 2008 12:29 PM