Old May 03, 2014, 09:41 PM
Naval gazing
United States, MA, Boston
Joined May 2008
1,228 Posts
Discussion
a good beginner scale sailboat?

is there such a thing?

I'm new to sailboats so an engineer friend was urging me to get a nonscale one to learn on first but i really like scale boats in general. I may yet get, say, a Dragonforce RG65 but if there's also a scale option that doesn't require more than 2 radio channels, that would be great too.

thanks in advance.
spacephrawg is offline Find More Posts by spacephrawg
to remove ads between posts
Old May 04, 2014, 03:52 PM
Shanghai'd Expat
Xiaoshan, China
Joined Jun 2006
4,581 Posts
KY Model Mariner

If you want a scale ARTR sailboat that you can kit bash into a nice looking classic yacht, I'd consider the Mariner from KY Model. Its actually a motor sailor with (and God only knows why) one of those cheap standard rigs found on any multitude of Chinese ARTR sailboat you see peddled online. I've seen them up close at my LHS & at local shows &, aside from that ugly rig, its a nice looking boat, well built & detailed right out of the box. The first thing I'd do would be to replace the mast & sails with something more akin to its intended appearance.

IMEX sells it in the States & has been known to discount it heavily - a friend picked one up for next to nothing last year at the WRAM show.

http://www.imexrc.com/servlet/the-15...SAILING/Detail
herrmill is offline Find More Posts by herrmill
Old May 09, 2014, 02:42 PM
Naval gazing
Joined May 2008
1,228 Posts
The keel looks a bit shallow on that is that sort of thing par for the course with scale sailers?
Old May 27, 2014, 04:37 PM
United States, UT, Murray
Joined May 2014
17 Posts
I know this is an older post (May 9th) but if you go to the sailboats section there's a bunch to look around (you probably already figured this out...)

http://www.rcgroups.com/sailboats-59/