HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 22, 2008, 09:57 PM
Hegerstown, MD
Joined Dec 2006
20 Posts
Discussion
tensor 4d power system

picked up an eflight tensor 4d for a song on the trade shelf at my lhs. I got 2 power systems i am debating and wanted a little more input as i have little experience in 3d flight. going between eflight park 480 1020kv with a 45 ams ss esc running 3s 800 and 3s 1500, still debating prop on this one what do you guys think. second setup is a gws 2205 15t (2050kv about 14.67oz thrust on a 8x4) with a CC18 amp esc running on 2s 800 and 1250. i think the gws might not be enough power but would still fly the plane. i am not sure if the 480 is too heavy or overkill for this frame. what do you guys think. im just getting started in 3d and want something that i can learn a little on and i have both of these systems already.
Quasimorte is offline Find More Posts by Quasimorte
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 22, 2008, 10:57 PM
United States, CA, Clovis
Joined Mar 2004
3,201 Posts
The 480 would blow the wings right off your Tensor . It would fly very well with the 370 park.. I think they recomend that one. I have an AXI 2208/34 that' flies it very well.. totally unlimited with plenty of punch on the vertical... I use a 900mah 3s battery, and a CC Phoenix10. The plane is pretty fragile in some ways.. just watch out when walking around your house with it.. or even marginal landings on grass can loosen the carbon-fiber rods out of the foam. No worries though.. it's totally rebuildable should you do something like... run it into a basketball pole and tear it totally in half(ask me how I know).. and you can't just kill a Tensor.. they keep coming back with more glue. Really fun planes though.. it will reteach you "the right stick" for sure.. it really doesn't turn with ailerons.. it has a very axial role..so rudder is the order for turning.. it's really neat.