HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 26, 2011, 01:42 AM
Youngstown, Ohio
Joined Jan 2011
56 Posts
Discussion
USCG 82' Point Class Cutters

Here is my current work in progress that I have been working on for the past several years;. It all started with a Microglass hull

power is 2 MACK #1885 motors

The Point Young in action

These boats have all sorts of possibilities, I chose to do mine up in her battle configuration. I know there are others around here, let's see 'em!
PointBoat is offline Find More Posts by PointBoat
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2011, 02:02 AM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
14,028 Posts
Thanks for starting this thread! They are neat boats My hull is still bare, white gelcoat...
Aerominded is offline Find More Posts by Aerominded
Old Jan 26, 2011, 02:11 AM
Youngstown, Ohio
Joined Jan 2011
56 Posts
Put up a pic! I forgot what mine looked like
Old Jan 26, 2011, 02:54 AM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
14,028 Posts
Just waiting its turn to be built!

Your choice of MACK 1885 motors looks like a good call! Are you running them direct or though gearboxs?
Old Jan 26, 2011, 03:06 AM
Youngstown, Ohio
Joined Jan 2011
56 Posts
Running them direct for now, had them hooked to a 9.2 volt battery out of a nikko CG boat when I was testing them out, but need more juice. am going to eventually go with 12v, they seem to run better on 12v. Haven'nt even connected proper dog bones yet. currently have the motors hooked to the shafts with parts of left over oxygen tubing (I'm an EMT and nurse by trade). Thanks for posting that pic, now I remember what it looked like before I started.
Old Jan 26, 2011, 03:13 AM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
14,028 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PointBoat View Post
...now I remember what it looked like before I started.
They're nice hulls, for sure! Thanks for the info about the motors. Have you had your boat on a scale? I'm thinking this model will have a light target weight.