Thread Tools
Old Feb 07, 2016, 08:54 AM
weedsnager is offline
Find More Posts by weedsnager
Registered User
weedsnager's Avatar
United States, IN, St John
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justapoke View Post
I just finished setting up the gear.

Al I did was check all screws, replaced the stock clevises, and used my hot air gun to bend the geardoors.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DHf1cXvgA8
Everything is stock but the clevises ?
weedsnager is offline Find More Posts by weedsnager
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 07, 2016, 09:35 AM
Justapoke is offline
Find More Posts by Justapoke
aRCee Moron
Justapoke's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2012
1,809 Posts
Yes.

The clevises are very soft, after adjusting them a few times they did not lock anymore and one flipped out of the gear door yesterday.
So that's why I replaced them now.

So for the rest stock, I've opened and closed them many times now and all works fine.

Did not fly the plane yet.
Justapoke is offline Find More Posts by Justapoke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 09:23 AM
weedsnager is offline
Find More Posts by weedsnager
Registered User
weedsnager's Avatar
United States, IN, St John
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justapoke View Post
Hold on:

That UBEC looks like it does not work on 6-cells..

Other options:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...or_Lipoly.html

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ge_Output.html
Do you plug these UBEC 's into a separate battery ? Never used one before
weedsnager is offline Find More Posts by weedsnager
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 09:52 AM
horsefeet is offline
Find More Posts by horsefeet
Registered User
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Oct 2011
439 Posts
most ubec's work on all input voltages but they are most efficient when plugged into a source just a tad higher than your desired output. say you want 5 volts out for rx use and std servos then a simple 2 cell pack is best but any will work you just have the ubec burning off the un needed amount of input that if very high causes heat and will need airflow just like the esc does. i have ubecs in all my planes above 3s. and some are wired into the esc as i get them like the freewing ones i use bought from motion rc on sale at 78 bucks for 130a with ubec.....great deal i have several. if you have and esc without a ubec wired in line with the battery plug you can splice into the wires for that or use an adapter with a plug like say a parallel plug with one port flight pack other to ubec
horsefeet is offline Find More Posts by horsefeet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 10:01 AM
Cubcrazy is offline
Find More Posts by Cubcrazy
Scale Foam Flyer
Cubcrazy's Avatar
United States, AR, Cabot
Joined Oct 2007
4,356 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by weedsnager View Post
Do you plug these UBEC 's into a separate battery ? Never used one before
There are several methods you can use to connect a BEC. The voltage input wires of the BEC need to be connected to your power source. This is easily accomplished by soldering the BEC wires to the wires coming off your Speed Controller connection. Some people put a connector like a Deans or similar on the end of their BEC wires, then plug that in parallel with the battery connection. The output of the BEC is generally 5-6 volts, and you can connect the output to any unused channel on your receiver.

My advice is to wire the BEC to your power source, and use the voltage output of the BEC strictly for powering the retract circuit. The built in BEC in the stock ESC can be plugged into the throttle channel as normal, to power the rest of your servos. This is the best method for these larger models with retracts.

Since your have never used a BEC before, it is probably unlikely that you will want to go through the trouble of soldering, and making adapters, and custom wiring the model. In case you do, here is a simplified diagram that shows the setup I described above for the BEC.
Cubcrazy is offline Find More Posts by Cubcrazy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: GWS Funny Park
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 11:27 AM
Justapoke is offline
Find More Posts by Justapoke
aRCee Moron
Justapoke's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2012
1,809 Posts
Cg

So where do you guys have the CG set?

I'm about done with my build now, only thing left is adding the guns including a few LED's on the wing.

I have my 6S 5000mAh 40C as far in front as possible, still I come out with the CG further behind than in the manual.

Manual states a CG of 120mm, mine comes out at 132mm at the moment.

So should I add some weight to the nose, or is the recommended 120mm nose heavy anyway?

Some more images:
Justapoke is offline Find More Posts by Justapoke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2016, 12:00 PM
propstall is offline
Find More Posts by propstall
Registered User
United States, MO, KCMO
Joined Feb 2016
11 Posts
Did I read in this thread that there is a special shaft for Do Bro balancer to do nose cone & prop as an Assm. ???? Do you have a part #.
Thanks
propstall is offline Find More Posts by propstall
Last edited by propstall; Feb 09, 2016 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2016, 01:47 PM
Justapoke is offline
Find More Posts by Justapoke
aRCee Moron
Justapoke's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2012
1,809 Posts
Search for: Dubro Tru-Spin

#499

{edit: never mind, had no glasses on and did not read you need another shaft}
Justapoke is offline Find More Posts by Justapoke
Last edited by Justapoke; Feb 09, 2016 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2016, 07:34 PM
propstall is offline
Find More Posts by propstall
Registered User
United States, MO, KCMO
Joined Feb 2016
11 Posts
LOL thats ok poke I could be wrong the one supplied might work could have been over thinkin it. I do that alot LOL
propstall is offline Find More Posts by propstall
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2016, 11:36 PM
buz.hampton is offline
Find More Posts by buz.hampton
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
2 Posts
Did you ever get this working? If not, get in touch at osasales@comcast. net I will take care of it. The 90 days has to do with manufacturing flaws, not firmware issues. I take those seriously.
Buz
buz.hampton is offline Find More Posts by buz.hampton
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 06:10 AM
Justapoke is offline
Find More Posts by Justapoke
aRCee Moron
Justapoke's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2012
1,809 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by propstall View Post
LOL thats ok poke I could be wrong the one supplied might work could have been over thinkin it. I do that alot LOL
If there is a special shaft for bigger props / spinners I'm also interested myself on what part to look for.

Can't realy remember how I did mine, but I also dynamic balanced the whole combo when I put it on the motor.
Justapoke is offline Find More Posts by Justapoke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2016, 07:37 AM
propstall is offline
Find More Posts by propstall
Registered User
United States, MO, KCMO
Joined Feb 2016
11 Posts
In that case I will give Do Bro a call today and see. Will post my findings. Im thinking it will fit prop Assm. but I dont know if the shaft is long enough to still reach the wheels. Should get mine tomarrow for fitment also will post.
propstall is offline Find More Posts by propstall
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2016, 04:42 AM
Coot83 is offline
Find More Posts by Coot83
You haz hurricane?
Coot83's Avatar
United States, VA, Alexandria
Joined Jun 2012
1,363 Posts
Wing Clasp Part

Not sure if I will have any luck here, but would anyone have the clasp that holds the two wings together that sits just above the intake? When moving my plane over from my old place, it looks like I lost that part and unfortunately FMS doesn't sell it individually. If anyone might have one from a previous bird lying around please let me know.

Coot
Coot83 is offline Find More Posts by Coot83
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2016, 08:25 AM
reno4sure is offline
Find More Posts by reno4sure
No worries, I've got your six
reno4sure's Avatar
Joined May 2011
634 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justapoke View Post
If there is a special shaft for bigger props / spinners I'm also interested myself on what part to look for.

Can't realy remember how I did mine, but I also dynamic balanced the whole combo when I put it on the motor.

This is the longer balancing shaft you need.. but "out of stock" at HH
http://www.horizonhobby.com/xl-repla...r-shaft-dub978

Hobbyzone
https://www.hobbyzone.com/building-s...rs/DUB978.html

Reno
reno4sure is offline Find More Posts by reno4sure
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2016, 08:34 AM
propstall is offline
Find More Posts by propstall
Registered User
United States, MO, KCMO
Joined Feb 2016
11 Posts
Thanks reno
I thought so............. I spent about 3hrs & dident find a thing. Great members here.
Have a great day


Ordered thru Du-Bro @ $17.31 USD in stock
propstall is offline Find More Posts by propstall
Last edited by propstall; Feb 11, 2016 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold NEW FMS 57" P-51 Mustang with upgrades godofthunder77 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Sep 14, 2011 02:55 PM
Sold NEW FMS 57" P-51 Mustang with upgrades godofthunder77 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 04, 2011 01:41 PM
Sold FMS/Airfield P-51 Mustang V6 - Newest Version w/ tail retract, nav lights, more: BNF Roswalt Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 9 May 25, 2011 11:08 AM
For Sale Guillows North American P-51 Mustang SupaMan Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 04, 2010 09:38 PM
For Sale Guillows North American P-51 Mustang SupaMan Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 04, 2010 09:07 PM