HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 25, 2012, 07:28 AM
Australia, ACT, Canberra
Joined Dec 2011
183 Posts
Question
Brushed to brushless conversion

Hello All,

So I was just going through some plans I have and one of them was for a nice basic build of a plane however it was designed for a 540 motor and 6/7 cell nicad (Yeah it's an old plan hahaha). What would this combo translate to these days for a Brushless with Lipo's.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to electrics so any advice would be great.

Thanks.
NOI53Y is offline Find More Posts by NOI53Y
to remove ads between posts
Old May 25, 2012, 08:13 AM
Fueled by Arabica Beans
United States, NY, Syracuse
Joined Oct 2008
3,684 Posts
That translates into a low power, heavy system. How big is this plane (size and weight) and what kind of flying are you looking to do? Old electric planes, for the most part were designed to just get into the air and stay off the ground... performance was nothing like the electrics of today. The best thing we can do is get an idea of the size of the plane.

I had a geared 550 in my super sportster EP and it made the plane heavy and sluggish to accelerate... I doubled the power with a brushless setup and cut out about 10 ounces from the flying weight by converting.
ChillPhatCat is online now Find More Posts by ChillPhatCat
Old May 25, 2012, 08:28 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
12,467 Posts
But some of those old short nosed designs worked well with brushed motors, converting them to lighter brushless motors often meant adding some lead to get the CG where it originally was.

Many of the electric powered gliders designed around a brushed motor come to mind, and the WWI short nosed biplanes.

But brushless motor and Lipos do generally mean better flying over the brushed and nicad/nimh set-ups.
eflightray is offline Find More Posts by eflightray
Old May 25, 2012, 08:34 AM
Fueled by Arabica Beans
United States, NY, Syracuse
Joined Oct 2008
3,684 Posts