Old Jan 18, 2015, 04:56 PM
TEAM HORIZON
Killingworth CT
Joined Nov 2008
2,572 Posts
Build Log
112" Republic Twin Seabee ( Twinbee )

Hi gang.
A buddy( Rob) and I have been sitting on plans to build a giant scale Seabee for a couple years. In the mean time we bought a GP sales Sea bee kit an assemble it with an electric power system. Overall, its a good flying plane, but the lack of prop clearance limits the power and thrust you can have.
Moving to the scratch build project, we took a set of plans and had them blown up to the size we wanted.

Since this is a scratch build, not laser cut parts, no fiberglass cowl or floats, we'll be making our own.

The plane is being designed to accept the EVO 20cc motors. http://www.horizonhobby.com/20gx-20c...carb-evoe20gx2
They're on order now and I expect to have them this week. We already have an EVO 33 in a Hangar 9 Beaver and couldn't be happier with the performance, so its a no brainer to use a pair of 20cc motors in this build.
The plan shows a single engine plane, so we'll be modifying to make it a twin.

First thing we're doing is building the wing. Thats the most difficult part of this build, do we'll tackle it first.
The wing is a three piece setup, with the center section originally designed to stay with the fuse. We'll change it slightly and make the center section wider, incorporation the dihedral and the two motors. Doing this, the outer wing panels will simply slights right onto the wing tubes.

Off we go.
We cut most ribs out of 1/8 balsa, the rest are 1/8 a/c ply where the motors will attach, The panels will be capped with 1/8 liteply.
After that was accomplished, we clamped them all together with a ply rib on each side and touched up the tops and bottoms with a sanding block. The spar cutouts were also sanded to perfection while they were clamped together.