SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 14, 2014, 09:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
Question
XPS universal module inside a frsky Taranis?

Is it possible to replace the FRSKY internal module on the FRSKY Taranis with a universal XPS module, so that if you say use the internal module, it would be XPS, and if you say external it could be something like a spectrum module?
I do not use any FRSKY RX, but Mostly XPS, and spectrum for Bind and fly.
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 15, 2014, 12:12 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
16,184 Posts
Yes, several people have done that. The antenna is the tricky part.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2014, 06:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yes, several people have done that. The antenna is the tricky part.
Is there a detailed "How to" thread somewhere?

I'm thinking probably but haven't found it.
Treeline is offline Find More Posts by Treeline
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2014, 12:15 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
16,184 Posts
TheKM posted some pictures of how he installed a JR module internally. The installation would be the same, but using the Universal Module instead.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2015, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
but is there a way to replace the Taranis internal module. So my internal one would be XPS, and the external would be the module?
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2015, 01:19 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
16,184 Posts
Yes, "TheKM" has his Taranis setup this way.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2015, 04:09 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
20,651 Posts
moved it inside the case (still connected to external module however) here...
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1562

...and then connected it to the internal module port here...
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=2575
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2015, 06:39 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
16,184 Posts
Thanks for the links!
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 01:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
So this is possible with the Universal module? or only with the JR Module?
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 01:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
and what setting on the internal module do you use to activate the XPS board and get all the channels? D16 with channels 1 - 16?
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 10:44 AM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
20,651 Posts
to hook into and take over the role of the internal module, you need the XPS JR module running the latest firmware. this is because the Taranis will not send PPM to the internal module, only the FrSky protocol. Jim reverse engineered the protocol for the JR module (JR module is more fancy with serial input for messing with the data stream instead of ppm). Universal module is for PPM based conversions, so if that's what you have, will need to plug it into the external port.
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 11:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
I have both available, I just have 2 universal and only 1 JR so in case I messed up.
So I need to update JR Module with latest code. OK.
So then on the Taranis install just hook it up like your photo.
Do you know how to do it with the Taranis Plus. I saw 5 solder points like the ones you connected too, but the whole board is much different in the new version.
I have both, but was hoping to do this to the new Taranis Plus version
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 11:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
here is a photo of the new board
http://www.uffdarc.com/photo/plus-board.JPG
I was hoping the P13 (five points) are where I would connect up the internal XPS, but I have no idea.
And would I just cut off the boad that has the antenna hooked too it?
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 02:19 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
20,651 Posts
ooh, that's a different board to mine... wonder if they got it re-certified with the FCC.

but i would assume it's the 5 pins where the module pins would be, is where to connect. but cautiously disable the antenna board. I removed the module and it complained of the antenna removal, so put it back on and then cut power traces and such to the antenna and worked backwards until I happily felt it was sabotaged enough
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 06:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
262 Posts
I updated the JR module to latest firmware.
Then I tried hocking it up each of the systems with a temp wire harness.
I Soldered it in like your photo for the Taranis. I did not do anything with the internal board, as I was guessing it wouldn't affect anything as I was just adding another internal module for the time being. Will remove the frsky one once I get it working. Well I could not connect to the RX. even tried a rebind in this mode. Still not able to hook up to the RX.
I did the same wire harness soldered on the new taranis plus board, and same outcome.

Set the internal module to D16 with channels 1 - 16.
So I fully would have expected the first way to work as you have shown that to work.
Wondering what step I missed.
Uff-Da RC is offline Find More Posts by Uff-Da RC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Aurora 9 or Taranis with XPS module? Kid45 Xtreme Power Systems 24 Nov 26, 2014 07:00 PM
Discussion Putting a XPS module in a FrSky radio? Uff-Da RC Xtreme Power Systems 17 Apr 06, 2014 04:53 PM
Discussion Taranis w/ XPS module Range Issues? PGR Xtreme Power Systems 3 Mar 30, 2014 01:04 AM
Discussion 9CAP + frsky module + 2.5w amp all inside of TX nige838 FPV Talk 2 Jan 20, 2014 04:52 AM
For Sale Hacked 6EX radio with FrSky module inside oscarbertrand FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Sep 09, 2013 09:00 AM