SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 29, 2015, 02:19 PM
Find More Posts by Randall Miller
Houston, TX.
Joined Jan 2001
182 Posts
Discussion
Is the G62 magneto old technology?

I'm new to gassers. I wanted to buy a G62ei from Horizon with electronic ignition, but they are out of stock. I have a 10% off coupon for this $430 engine and must use it soon. Should I buy the magneto engine from them instead at $460 ? (and 10% off) I'm planning on putting it in a Topflite Giant P-47 where I can use some weight up front, so I don't think the extra weight of the magneto G62 engine is an issue. But I feel like I'm buying an older style technology engine at a little more cost too.

Is this still plenty fine an engine?....... or should I hold out and look for the ei version somewhere else and forfeit my 10% off coupon. In the end, I'm still more concerned about a good running engine rather then saving $43 to $46.
Randall Miller is offline Find More Posts by Randall Miller
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 29, 2015, 02:56 PM
Find More Posts by earlwb
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
14,455 Posts
Well technically the magneto is considered old technology. But it is proven to be quite reliable though. Many people still prefer the magneto ignition on their RC motors. So it winds up being a personal preference kind of thing. If the added weight is not a issue, then it can work well for a person. So going with a magneto is not bad, it can be pretty good. No battery to charge, it powers itself. Quite reliable, not a lot there to go wrong. You can still hook a switch up to it for killing the engine remotely too.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My new Gaui X5 Rc Helicopter
Old Apr 29, 2015, 03:11 PM
Find More Posts by exf3bguy
Joined Oct 2011
887 Posts
The only drawback I see.is the mag engine is a little more difficult to start and slightly less power. Only real negitives due to fixed timing.