Old May 15, 2015, 08:51 PM
Find More Posts by chyorn
Adam Stallcup
Forsyth Mo
Joined Jan 2008
107 Posts
Discussion
Life charging question

I am new to this type of battery. I am using the hitec x4 ac/dc charger. I went in through "user program" and told it I had a LIFE battery. While balance charging it says it is charging a LIFE battery, but when I click over to the individual cell voltages, they do not add up to the value in the total voltage on the main screen. With lipo's, I have seen at most that it is off by 0.02 for this, but this is off by 0.35 volts. Since I have never used this type of battery before, I was curious if I should be worried. It is brand new out of the package; just got it in the mail today in fact.

adam
chyorn is offline Find More Posts by chyorn
to remove ads between posts
Old May 16, 2015, 02:23 AM
Find More Posts by abenn
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
12,730 Posts
There's no reason why LiFe batteries should be any different from LiPos in that respect. If the values don't add up it suggests that perhaps there's a bad connection in one of the balance lead connectors. I'm surprised you charger doesn't sound an alarm because of the mismatch -- it presumably doesn't think it's enough to be concerned about.

When you've read the voltages, is that at the beginning or the end of the charge? Have you checked with a DVM to see what the cell voltages are?

I would unplug the balance connector plugs, and then plug them in again a couple of times to see if it improves. A quick spray of switch cleaner might also be good.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Old May 16, 2015, 08:06 AM
Adam Stallcup
Forsyth Mo
Joined Jan 2008
107 Posts
I thought about connections later on after the charge was through; Thing is that I have never seen this before with other lipo batts. I have another new one I purchased. I will try it today and see what I get. I will also charge a lipo and see what I get.