Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 20, 2013, 11:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Link
NAZA OSD for about 20$

Hi,

curious how to build an OSD for NAZA V1,V2,Lite for about 20$ and with no need for an extra ATmega board?

Watch my minNAZAOSD project here:

http://code.google.com/p/minnazaosd/


A test flight with the minNAZAOSD:

minNAZAOSD demo flight 001 (11 min 43 sec)



Bye
JR
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 20, 2013, 08:11 PM
kitesurfer
United Kingdom, Blackpool
Joined Dec 2005
1,540 Posts
Looks interesting. But will it require using timbal outputs for artificial horizon, making it impossible with naza setup in octo ,ode?
AliB is online now Find More Posts by AliB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 01:20 AM
Registered User
Romania, Bucuresti, Bucharest
Joined Oct 2011
135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliB View Post
Looks interesting. But will it require using timbal outputs for artificial horizon, making it impossible with naza setup in octo ,ode?
While it is true you can only have a max of 6 motors, it's a good trade off for many of the NAZA fliers, since it's a new addition anyway.

Hey JR, thanks for bringing this to the community, I have a couple of questions if you have time:

- the voltage/current sensing is done via sensors, or like the kvOSD implementation?
- the mode switch works with the ATmega pin or with the back pads?

Thanks, I will try this very soon.
bikerboy_id is online now Find More Posts by bikerboy_id
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 01:26 AM
Registered User
albx's Avatar
Italy
Joined Jun 2007
392 Posts
great project, testing it now... but I have a problem with gps, connected with the new configuration, not soldered the cable to the puck but connected the tx pin from gps to the rx pin to the osd, and changed the configuration commenting/uncommenting as in the following in the OSD_Config.h file:

#define GPS_PROTOCOL_DJI
//#define GPS_PROTOCOL_UBX

but no gps data on the osd, the only visible icon is the gps and sat lock, no coords, no altitude and everything related to the gps, I don't mean it displays zero, it is just not visible at all... need to change something else? ah.. they are checked in the osd configuration tool, saved the panel and reloaded and they are there...
albx is online now Find More Posts by albx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliB View Post
Looks interesting. But will it require using timbal outputs for artificial horizon, making it impossible with naza setup in octo ,ode?
Yes, it uses the gimbal F1, F2 outputs.

So, when using it on an octo you can't have artificial horizon but all other features.
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerboy_id View Post
While it is true you can only have a max of 6 motors, it's a good trade off for many of the NAZA fliers, since it's a new addition anyway.

Hey JR, thanks for bringing this to the community, I have a couple of questions if you have time:

- the voltage/current sensing is done via sensors, or like the kvOSD implementation?
- the mode switch works with the ATmega pin or with the back pads?

Thanks, I will try this very soon.
Its done with a sensor like this:

http://www.goodluckbuy.com/crius-v-i...attopilot.html

but if you have some coding knowledge you can change it like done by kvOSD.


The screen switch works with an ATmega pin but again, if you have some coding knowledge you can change it to the PAL pad on the back.
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:31 AM
Registered User
Romania, Bucuresti, Bucharest
Joined Oct 2011
135 Posts
Thank you JR, it is clear enough even for me now.
bikerboy_id is online now Find More Posts by bikerboy_id
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by albx View Post
great project, testing it now... but I have a problem with gps, connected with the new configuration, not soldered the cable to the puck but connected the tx pin from gps to the rx pin to the osd, and changed the configuration commenting/uncommenting as in the following in the OSD_Config.h file:

#define GPS_PROTOCOL_DJI
//#define GPS_PROTOCOL_UBX

but no gps data on the osd, the only visible icon is the gps and sat lock, no coords, no altitude and everything related to the gps, I don't mean it displays zero, it is just not visible at all... need to change something else? ah.. they are checked in the osd configuration tool, saved the panel and reloaded and they are there...

And there are also some criteria for showing all the GPS related info:

Code:
    // criteria for a stable home position:
    //  - GPS fix
    //  - with at least 5 satellites
    //  - osd_alt stable for 50 * 100ms = 5s
    //  - osd_alt stable means the delta is lower 0.5m
    if (osd_fix_type > 1 && osd_satellites_visible >= 5 && osd_alt_cnt < 50) {
      if (fabs(osd_alt_prev - osd_alt) > 0.5) {
        osd_alt_cnt = 0;
        osd_alt_prev = osd_alt;
      } else {
        if (++osd_alt_cnt >= 50) {
          osd_home_lat = osd_lat;  	// take this osd_lat as osd_home_lat
          osd_home_lon = osd_lon;  	// take this osd_lon as osd_home_lon
          osd_home_alt = osd_alt;  	// take this stable osd_alt as osd_home_alt
	  osd_got_home = 1;
        }
      }
    }
This is done not to show the incorrect and fast changing values at the beginning and in bad GPS visibility conditions.
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerboy_id View Post
Thank you JR, it is clear enough even for me now.
you are welcome.
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 02:45 AM
Registered User
albx's Avatar
Italy
Joined Jun 2007
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR63 View Post
And there are also some criteria for showing all the GPS related info:

Code:
    // criteria for a stable home position:
    //  - GPS fix
    //  - with at least 5 satellites
    //  - osd_alt stable for 50 * 100ms = 5s
    //  - osd_alt stable means the delta is lower 0.5m
    if (osd_fix_type > 1 && osd_satellites_visible >= 5 && osd_alt_cnt < 50) {
      if (fabs(osd_alt_prev - osd_alt) > 0.5) {
        osd_alt_cnt = 0;
        osd_alt_prev = osd_alt;
      } else {
        if (++osd_alt_cnt >= 50) {
          osd_home_lat = osd_lat;  	// take this osd_lat as osd_home_lat
          osd_home_lon = osd_lon;  	// take this osd_lon as osd_home_lon
          osd_home_alt = osd_alt;  	// take this stable osd_alt as osd_home_alt
	  osd_got_home = 1;
        }
      }
    }
This is done not to show the incorrect and fast changing values at the beginning and in bad GPS visibility conditions.
thanks, tested outside and works...

keep going this great project... thanks again
albx is online now Find More Posts by albx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 03:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by albx View Post
thanks, tested outside and works...

keep going this great project... thanks again
Wow, that was fast.

Thanks for your feedback.
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 07:32 AM
Registered User
Romania, Bucuresti, Bucharest
Joined Oct 2011
135 Posts
Hi guys,

It seems I have a problem compiling, I'm using arduino 1.0.5.
Are there any other libraries I need besides what's in the minnazaosd trunk?
bikerboy_id is online now Find More Posts by bikerboy_id
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 07:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerboy_id View Post
Hi guys,

It seems I have a problem compiling, I'm using arduino 1.0.5.
Are there any other libraries I need besides what's in the minnazaosd trunk?
Did you get the libs from here:

http://code.google.com/p/minnazaosd/...nk%2Flibraries


Maybe you also need the libs from the other project arducam OSD but I think they are the same.

You can find them here

http://code.google.com/p/arducam-osd/

or here

http://code.google.com/p/minimosd-extra/

Bye
JR
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 08:01 AM
Registered User
Romania, Bucuresti, Bucharest
Joined Oct 2011
135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR63 View Post
Did you get the libs from here:

http://code.google.com/p/minnazaosd/...nk%2Flibraries


Maybe you also need the libs from the other project arducam OSD but I think they are the same.

You can find them here

http://code.google.com/p/arducam-osd/

or here

http://code.google.com/p/minimosd-extra/

Bye
JR
That's what I have, but still no go.
I get a bunch of errors, so it should be something I'm missing, just can't figure out what...
bikerboy_id is online now Find More Posts by bikerboy_id
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2013, 08:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerboy_id View Post
That's what I have, but still no go.
I get a bunch of errors, so it should be something I'm missing, just can't figure out what...
Hmm, maybe try to clear the sketchbook and try one of the other OSD projects first:

http://code.google.com/p/arducam-osd/

or

http://code.google.com/p/minimosd-extra/

Then if one of them is able to be compiled try the minNAZAOSD again with adding my libs.


Bye
JR
JR63 is online now Find More Posts by JR63
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion OSD for DJI Naza V1/V2 - The FBOSD Firebug24k FPV Equipment 1 Jun 18, 2013 07:46 PM
Sold Bad Nova OSD Board + Good Working Cables = $20 Each or $35 for the Lot timmins02 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Jun 08, 2013 09:31 AM
Discussion DJI OSD for NAZA GPS and WK-M ? Velociraptor73 Multirotor Electronics 31 Oct 12, 2012 10:00 PM
Discussion Fiber optics OSD for DJI NAZA Nuckan Multirotor Electronics 7 Sep 01, 2012 05:33 PM
Sold DJI NAZA Controller - flown about 20 times BayAreaCrasher Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 May 03, 2012 11:39 AM