HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:02 PM
United States, MN, St Paul
Joined Jan 2013
13 Posts
Discussion
How do you align a tapered ribs on a Polyhedral wing?

Total noob builder here so please forgive any stupid questions.

I've started building a P2V-7 Neptune C/L model and started to realized how little I actually knew about model airplane building

I've cut my spars and ribs and started gluing the outside ribs 1st. Making sure that they were square to the spars and completely vertical. I didn't, however make sure that they were pitched at the same angle. As a result at least one is quite out of line with the others. Just glad I stopped after the 4th rib.

So... Anyone have pointers on how to remove a CA glued balsa joint and / or how to align tapered ribs on a polyhedral wing, the right way? Or any other suggestions on how to get this build back on track.

Thanks for any help.
Atomikbohm is offline Find More Posts by Atomikbohm
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:10 PM
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
acetone is a great debonder. Does your plans have instrutions
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:24 PM
Joined Jan 2013
13 Posts
Thanks for the response kerwin50.

Does acetone have any detrimental effects on the balsa? I saw that it could be used but with what I've read on the effects of glow fuel I was hoping to avoid putting any chemicals on the wood for fear that it might damage / weaken it.

The plans I'm working with were originally published in the April 1961 issue of Aeromodeller. The build article says "Cement wing ribs W1 to W5 on the spar (over the plan) and then the 1/16in. sheet trailing edge and 1/2 in. by 5/8 in. leading edge (cut down from 3/4 in. by 3/4 in.) and then shape to section." That's it as far as instructions go.