New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2016, 07:03 AM
Edin508 is offline
Find More Posts by Edin508
Noob
Edin508's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2013
238 Posts
Thanks! Just printed that out to use. I will have to read it later today and see if I have any questions.
Edin508 is offline Find More Posts by Edin508
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2016, 10:25 AM
Rfriedman is online now
Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Registered User
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Jul 2012
755 Posts
Sounds good. I tried to make firmware flashing and changing settings instructions as explicit as possible. This video will help you adjust settings on the 4ch and 8ch receivers.


You need to update tx, and your 12ch rx's to V2. Then, you can also change settings in the diversity receivers for channel mapping, ppm, or sbus if you are so inclined to do so.

Rangelink 4ch/8ch Receiver Configuration (7 min 11 sec)
Rfriedman is online now Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Last edited by Rfriedman; Jan 30, 2016 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2016, 03:24 PM
quad007 is online now
Find More Posts by quad007
DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
quad007's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Oct 2012
1,415 Posts
i'm selling a bunch of rangelink gear. nearly new. $60 shipped for each rx(old style, many pwm channels).
quad007 is online now Find More Posts by quad007
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 09:00 PM
Sanjo is offline
Find More Posts by Sanjo
I'd rather be flying.
Sanjo's Avatar
United States, MI, Muskegon
Joined Jul 2014
215 Posts
I still can't get RL and the Quanum No drift Tracker to work together.

I have plugged the negative and TPPM from the tracker to the tracker port on RL - but I can't get them to jive. This was supposed to be the only 2 wires required.

I've tried it wired through the trainer of a different radio and bound it to a different spektrum rx and it works when I toggle the trainer - but on my DX9 with the rangelink plugged in to the trainer, then the tracker plugged into rangelink - no dice.

any advice?
Sanjo is offline Find More Posts by Sanjo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Holy Phantom Batman!
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 09:40 AM
Sanjo is offline
Find More Posts by Sanjo
I'd rather be flying.
Sanjo's Avatar
United States, MI, Muskegon
Joined Jul 2014
215 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanjo View Post
I still can't get RL and the Quanum No drift Tracker to work together.

I have plugged the negative and TPPM from the tracker to the tracker port on RL - but I can't get them to jive. This was supposed to be the only 2 wires required.

I've tried it wired through the trainer of a different radio and bound it to a different spektrum rx and it works when I toggle the trainer - but on my DX9 with the rangelink plugged in to the trainer, then the tracker plugged into rangelink - no dice.

any advice?
I am afraid of frying something - I don't want to hook up the wrong stuff - but there's no definitive info on any of this stuff unfortunately.

Am I supposed to plug in the signal from the head tracker to the PPM or TPPM on the rangelink?

When I tested the voltage of the rangelink head tracking port - the PPM has a 3 volt current running through it when I power the system up - but the TPPM has no current.

Should I be plugging the signal from the head tacker - to the TPPM or the PPM on the rangelink?

A few pages back someone said it was just the ground and TPPM that needed to be connected - but I don't think this is right, since I've had zero luck getting it to work like that. Also the tracker manual says use the PPM.

My concern is that if I plug the signal form the tracker to the PPM that has a current - that it will fry either the rangelink or the radio.

My head is about to explode...

The manual for the tracker says use the PPM stream to the radio for stuff.

But it doesn't include anything if you're using a LRS that's already using your PPM.

Like I said - I don't wanna burn any of this stuff up getting my balls on fire.

Thanks for any help.
Sanjo is offline Find More Posts by Sanjo
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Sanjo; Feb 07, 2016 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 10:22 AM
Sanjo is offline
Find More Posts by Sanjo
I'd rather be flying.
Sanjo's Avatar
United States, MI, Muskegon
Joined Jul 2014
215 Posts
I also have tried this to a T:

Quote:
Head Tracker
Assigning Channels on TX:
1. If you have not already done so, Download the V2.10 zip file from Sid's RCG home page. (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=352541)
2. Connect the usb2ttl to the tx (ground to ground, tx-to-rx and rx-to-tx) and plug into an available usb port.
3. Open the application software JFPV v1.2 and select your serial port from the drop down box located on the bottom left portion of the screen.
4. Switch the tx to high power.
5. Hold down the mode button while powering up the TX and CONTINUE to hold the mode button down until you hear the second beep (approximately 10 seconds)
6.Click the read button on the transmitter side of the screen and select the channels you want to connect your head tracker to.
7. From the drop down box change the "no override" to the corresponding TPPM channel.
(i.e. CH6 - no override / CH6 - TPPM CH6)
7. Click write.

Head Tracker Port
TPPM - Head Tracker signal out. (Input ppm signal from HT into here, the rangelink will add it to next open channels)
PPM - (R/C PPM) Radio ppm signal out for Head Tracker, some need this for sync,some do not.
V+ - (R/C V+) Head Tracker power supply, some need this,some do not.
GND - (R/C GND) Head Tracker ground.
Sanjo is offline Find More Posts by Sanjo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Holy Phantom Batman!
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 03:33 PM
_Sibi_ is online now
Find More Posts by _Sibi_
Registered User
_Sibi_'s Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
339 Posts
Sanjo just stick to this manual. Works for me with the same setup:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=5340

this is very easy, no worries you won't frie anything (if you stick to my wire plan).
_Sibi_ is online now Find More Posts by _Sibi_
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2016, 08:05 AM
Edin508 is offline
Find More Posts by Edin508
Noob
Edin508's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2013
238 Posts
Just tried to update my TX. All went fine until after the update, now when I hit the get info button all I get is device not found.

Got it hooked up to the PC
Hit "get info" and found out that I had v1.27 on the TX
Opened the latest hex file, v 2.11 and hit send
Let them do their thing until it told me that it was complete
Exited and powered down
Reconnected everything to check that the latest FW was 2.11 and now all I get is "device not found"

Did I brick this thing? I haven't even got to the RX's yet!
Edin508 is offline Find More Posts by Edin508
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2016, 12:15 PM
_Sibi_ is online now
Find More Posts by _Sibi_
Registered User
_Sibi_'s Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
339 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edin508 View Post
Just tried to update my TX. All went fine until after the update, now when I hit the get info button all I get is device not found.

Got it hooked up to the PC
Hit "get info" and found out that I had v1.27 on the TX
Opened the latest hex file, v 2.11 and hit send
Let them do their thing until it told me that it was complete
Exited and powered down
Reconnected everything to check that the latest FW was 2.11 and now all I get is "device not found"

Did I brick this thing? I haven't even got to the RX's yet!
Connect and hit send without pressing "Get info" button.
_Sibi_ is online now Find More Posts by _Sibi_
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2016, 06:51 PM
Edin508 is offline
Find More Posts by Edin508
Noob
Edin508's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2013
238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sibi_ View Post
Connect and hit send without pressing "Get info" button.
I think the TX upgraded, I just wanted to use the "get info" button to see that it did in fact upgrade.
Sid sent me an e-mail back with a couple of things to try, just don't have the time right now.
Edin508 is offline Find More Posts by Edin508
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2016, 07:06 AM
Runesvei is online now
Find More Posts by Runesvei
Registered User
Joined Feb 2016
1 Posts
Hello. I have the same problem with rssi. How did you fix it?
Runesvei is online now Find More Posts by Runesvei
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2016, 01:35 PM
Rfriedman is online now
Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Registered User
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Jul 2012
755 Posts
Hey guys. Sid is releasing a new firmware for the 8ch diversity. It supports simultaneous link quality/rssi. You can also output sbus/ppm, and remap the other channels 1-12.
He hasn't sent the firmware out yet, but I am excited for having LQ and RSSI at the same time on my OSD.
Rfriedman is online now Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2016, 12:51 AM
Motocrossman24 is offline
Find More Posts by Motocrossman24
Registered User
Joined Jul 2015
827 Posts
Hey guys I'm looking for info whether or not range link will work with my spektrum dx6g2 iv searched and I only see info about the older style spektrum tx's and have also seen reports of some having issues with the new style spektrums, something about not having a stable trainer port or something like that. Anyone using this on newer spektrums?
Motocrossman24 is offline Find More Posts by Motocrossman24
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2016, 02:40 PM
Rfriedman is online now
Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Registered User
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Jul 2012
755 Posts
How to you resolder an SMA together on a rangelink 12ch receiver. The solder won't stick to it at all.
Rfriedman is online now Find More Posts by Rfriedman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2016, 11:38 AM
secretspy711 is online now
Find More Posts by secretspy711
Assault the sky
secretspy711's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined Aug 2004
206 Posts
Sid, when will the 8ch V2 receivers be back in stock?
secretspy711 is online now Find More Posts by secretspy711
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! NEW DRAGON LINK ADVANCED: Full Telemetry, Bluetooth, Droid Planner, Data Modem JettPilot FPV Equipment 50128 Today 01:44 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM