Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 05, 2014, 11:38 AM
Registered User
Danny_Swe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
215 Posts
I upgraded my Phoenix to v5 yesterday (v5.0.k I think). Then I got this v1.0.g maybe they just haven't made it available for DL yet.
Danny_Swe is offline Find More Posts by Danny_Swe
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2014, 11:57 AM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,388 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny_Swe View Post
I upgraded my Phoenix to v5 yesterday (v5.0.k I think). Then I got this v1.0.g maybe they just haven't made it available for DL yet.
Hmm.. I've got 5.0k (from the download upgrade), but have 1.0e of Builder.. maybe they've updated Builder and rolled it into the same 5.0k release.

Addition: Just seen that they have 5.0L available - and it includes Builder 1.0g.
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Last edited by Norman Adlam; Mar 05, 2014 at 12:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2014, 01:17 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,388 Posts
Interesting!

Upgrading one machine from 5.0j -> 5.0l and I got Builder 1.0g.
Upgrading my laptop from 5.0k -> 5.0l and Builder stayed at 1.0e!

Quick look at 1.0g and it doesn't actually look any better. (Actually, it doesn't seem to automatically put the "Test" export into the "Test" directory. It stopped and asked me where I wanted it. I thought that wasn't as good..)

It still creates cubes in which the visible attribute works, but they are never collidable.., plus other initial bugs I'd spotted seem to still be there.
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2014, 01:30 PM
Registered User
Danny_Swe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
215 Posts
yes, I posted my list to Phoenix support and got a reply:

Quote:
Thank you very much for your feedback on the new Phoenix Builder software.

We have forwarded all of your points to our development team, and they will take them into account when creating the next update.

Best Regards

Phoenix Support
So let's hope they will improve the builder.
Danny_Swe is offline Find More Posts by Danny_Swe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 09:53 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2007
100 Posts
I have got this message:

"Thank you for all of your feedback on the Builder application.

We are gathering all feedback, and will be producing an updated version very
soon which incorporates all of it in one update.

Best Regards

Phoenix Support"

I would like to inform you about the concerns sent to them:

1. The major problem is that the skyline object is not operating, this means that neither "collision" nor "visible" attribute settings are effective, if box is used the attributes are OK.
1.b/ At modified Carpark even the "original" skyline in front of row of trees is non effective.

2. Your h-map solution is excellent. The grid points can be moved up/down one by one.
It would be perfect if the "y" coordinate of the single grid point, or the central grid point if more grid points are under the brush, would be presented.

3. Disable/undo
a./ "Disable" attribute can be set, but Enable after this not.
Even I can produce a series of "Disable" 's.
b./ If a box is disabled the procedure is working, it is not possible to enlarge the box, for instance.
c./ If skyline is selected, and Disabled, any point pair can be deleted and new pair set, which means that disable of skyline is ineffective.
d./ Serious problem is that if an object is in "Disabled" status it can be deleted using "Delete Node"

It is a general problem that an "UNDO" function is missing. PhoenixCreator has this but it is not effective.
UNDO must cancel the effect of the last user action.

4. It is easy (by chance) to create a long series of skyline point pairs.
A not properly positioned cursor can create this. The number of point pairs and the density of those varies, created with one action.
If UNDO could be applied, this might be considered as a non important problem, but now the correction of this is extremely time consuming.

It is surprising that this point pair chain can be produced if "Top" view is selected, although it is trivial that the first point is set at y=0 level.

5. Water management:

If h-map should be used readers can see this instruction looking at the User Manual:

When you hold down the left mouse button, the height-map points within the brush radius will raise up at a speed depending on the brush power you have set.

If you have the CONTROL key held down, the points in this area will lower instead of raise.
On the contrary if the water brush should be used this can be read:

This object lets you setup water on this flying site. When water is enabled, it will appear as a blue plane in the scene. You can then paint how transparent the water is over the flying site using the brush tools.
No single word how to do this.

More over I could change the water to opaque (black) using "Fill" but it can not be changed back.
lcsaba is offline Find More Posts by lcsaba
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 11:19 AM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,388 Posts
Looks like between us, we'll be getting a much better product!

(Assuming that they actually will make changes based on the users feedback).
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 12:00 PM
Registered User
Danny_Swe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
215 Posts
lets hope!

yes, undo-function would be great, I was thinking of that too but forgot
Danny_Swe is offline Find More Posts by Danny_Swe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 12:09 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,388 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny_Swe View Post
lets hope!

yes, undo-function would be great, I was thinking of that too but forgot
(I'd added that into my report as well ).

I also suggested using the 'Del' key to delete an object / point, and 'Tab' key to swap windows.
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 12:23 PM
Registered User
Danny_Swe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
215 Posts
great!

they seem to release a new version every day, now there is Phoenix v5.0.l
Danny_Swe is offline Find More Posts by Danny_Swe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 02:45 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,243 Posts
If they fix the builder that will be 1/3 of the issues.
Anyone figured out the a/c builder part? I managed to load an existing model but I couldn't find how to resize the a/c geometry. ..
ckleanth is online now Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2014, 02:58 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,388 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleanth View Post
If they fix the builder that will be 1/3 of the issues.
Anyone figured out the a/c builder part? I managed to load an existing model but I couldn't find how to resize the a/c geometry. ..
Haven't got that far - concentrating on getting our local site usable in Phoenix, and happy to (initially) use the supplied models on it.
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2014, 10:18 AM
Registered User
Fatgadget's Avatar
Joined Feb 2012
352 Posts
Danny: Viklanda... it's still the best unfinished one.
Fatgadget is offline Find More Posts by Fatgadget
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2014, 12:14 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,243 Posts
Guys im a bit lost...
made a panoramic 360 image with huggin. Very bad pics but I just want to play around and learn creating sites.
no alpha channel filter I think (dont even know what that is at the moment)
Now how on earth do I bring the png image in creator 1.0g in order to allign it
I suppose next step is to allign and create obstacles etc.
I read the manual - wasn't inspired

can anyone help - maybe a step by step guide?

Cheers
George
ckleanth is online now Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2014, 12:25 PM
Registered User
Danny_Swe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
215 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatgadget View Post
Danny: Viklanda... it's still the best unfinished one.
:-) and it still needs better photos :-) nice that you remembered it though
Danny_Swe is offline Find More Posts by Danny_Swe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2014, 03:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2007
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleanth View Post
Guys im a bit lost...
made a panoramic 360 image with huggin. Very bad pics but I just want to play around and learn creating sites.
no alpha channel filter I think (dont even know what that is at the moment)
Now how on earth do I bring the png image in creator 1.0g in order to allign it
I suppose next step is to allign and create obstacles etc.
I read the manual - wasn't inspired

can anyone help - maybe a step by step guide?

Cheers
George
You should convert the equirectangular image you have to six cubeface images.Those can be used by "Panorama" .....

EPPforFUN said at page 42 "I have created it beforehand with ... and Pano2VR." "...." here can be substituted with huggin.

You sould not bother yourself with alpha issues, it might come later.

There is a free test version of Pano2VR.
You can download and test.
lcsaba is offline Find More Posts by lcsaba
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert flying site RCShop Slope 4 Mar 20, 2011 10:35 AM
Discussion Phoenix-new flying site MVC upnover Simulators 0 Feb 15, 2011 08:58 PM
Discussion Virgin Flying Site Checklist.... SENTRY 62 FPV Talk 32 Jan 03, 2011 09:47 PM
Question How does one make a flying site in Phoenix Creator? spagoziak Simulators 3 Jul 19, 2010 10:23 AM
Discussion Put your flying site on Phoenix sim McKrackin Electric Heli Talk 0 Apr 28, 2010 02:08 AM