HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 22, 2011, 04:22 PM
Joined Jan 2011
6 Posts
Question
twisted geometry

Hi,
I am an aerospace engineering student, we have to build 1 meter diameter wind turbine for course project. We have an old cnc hot wire cutter, step four, of early 90's production. It works fine and properly cuts tapered wings. My problem is that our turbine blade should have a 60 degree twist between root and tip. I did couple of tests but results aren't impressive. At root I placed horizontal 25 cm airfoil, at the tip 10 cm airfoil with 60 degrees of twist around the leading edge. Leading edges of the two airfoils are aligned, trailing edge of the tip is lower.
Resulted shape does have a twist, the problem is in the half span blade vanishes. Apparently it melted because the tip airfoil was too thin. If I increase tip airfoils thickness could that do the job ?
Also, I had problem with DXF import. From an airfoil archive I downloaded dwg file, converted it to autocad 2004 dxf format, but during import only the upper surface of airfoil showed up. When opened in autocad that dxf airfoil is a single curve, it is not even splitted to top and bottom surfaces. Today I converted airfoil into autocad 2000, R12 formats, maybe that machine doesn't support newer autocad versions.

I don't have access to the cutter on weekends, I'll resume works on Monday and desperately hope to come up with the solution to this problem because presentation is on Wednesday. Sorry for long post. Any input is highly appreciated.

Ilkin
alxasli is offline Find More Posts by alxasli
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2011, 02:38 AM
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,241 Posts
You might need to cut it in many pieces, and glue them together. Would be easier to give advice with pictures, or the dwg/dxf files.
Roto Rob is offline Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Old Jan 23, 2011, 04:45 AM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,689 Posts