HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 28, 2003, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,508 Posts
.
david_dewit is offline Find More Posts by david_dewit
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 28, 2003, 06:26 PM
Registered User
billystiltner's Avatar
United States, VA, Clintwood
Joined Nov 2002
3,666 Posts
I made a flat package adapter the other night for programming the SM sized PIC12C509A well it seemed all the pins were touching but were not. I made the adapter similar to the way the RX boards are made. With a blank peice of copper clad board and cut tracks. The little sockets turned 90 degrees seem to work better because of the spring in them. Any ideas on getting one to work with cutting tracks in a copper clad board? I think my method of holding the pic down needs to be retought, I used rubber bands
which work ok on the sockets but not on flat copper.


Nice programmers Dave and Josh.

Billy
billystiltner is offline Find More Posts by billystiltner
Last edited by billystiltner; Oct 28, 2003 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 06:46 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,508 Posts
Billy,

I have had no problems with flat pack adapter, but like Koichi, I use nylon bolts to clamp.

Just a thought, what about a clamp like in picture or maybe a cloths peg.

I'm sure you already know pics are static sensitive.

Dave
david_dewit is offline Find More Posts by david_dewit
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 06:54 PM
Registered User
QLD, Australia
Joined Sep 2003
1,549 Posts
Billy,
these are from Koichi's site
clipclop is offline Find More Posts by clipclop
Last edited by clipclop; Oct 28, 2003 at 10:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 06:56 PM
Registered User
QLD, Australia
Joined Sep 2003
1,549 Posts
one more
clipclop is offline Find More Posts by clipclop
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 07:00 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,508 Posts
Another picture of flat package adapter back on page 20.

Dave
david_dewit is offline Find More Posts by david_dewit
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 07:01 PM
Registered User
billystiltner's Avatar
United States, VA, Clintwood
Joined Nov 2002
3,666 Posts
I was just looking at those pictures on Koichi's site.
I would have to use metal bolts and nuts glued underneath. would this create static? Is that why nylon screws were used?


Billy
billystiltner is offline Find More Posts by billystiltner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 07:17 PM
Registered User
Koichi Tanaka's Avatar
Japan
Joined Dec 2002
327 Posts
Billy,

I use the plastic screw of 2mm . When screwing by the hand, to tighten, the reason because condition can be adjusted delicately.

Koichi
Koichi Tanaka is offline Find More Posts by Koichi Tanaka
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 07:57 PM
Registered User
billystiltner's Avatar
United States, VA, Clintwood
Joined Nov 2002
3,666 Posts
Thanks Koichi.
I will try it with small metal bolts.

Billy
billystiltner is offline Find More Posts by billystiltner
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2003, 10:20 PM
Registered User
QLD, Australia
Joined Sep 2003
1,549 Posts
Koichi,
Hope you dont mind me posting your pictures , and thank you for shareing with us all your wonderfull work.
I am a pensioner and on a limited budget , so this ir system has alowed me to get into the light weight flyers , again thank you Koichi.
Stewart
clipclop is offline Find More Posts by clipclop
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2003, 04:39 PM
Registered User
United States, PA, Canonsburg
Joined Sep 2001
185 Posts
Here's my question, can a regular 12C509 be re-programed? I've been under the impression that as long as "code protection" isn't used, these chips could be programmed over and over.
Skysailor is offline Find More Posts by Skysailor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2003, 04:44 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,508 Posts
Skysailor,

No, one time programmable.

Dave
david_dewit is offline Find More Posts by david_dewit
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2003, 04:49 PM
Registered User
jberg's Avatar
MSC Rödinghausen, Germany
Joined Feb 2001
954 Posts
Skysailor,

the chip itself would be erasable and reprogrammable, but you would have to expose it to ultraviolet light to erase it (like the old EPROM chips). Since the SOIC types don't have a window you simply can't do this. The CERDIP cases have a quartz glass window and can be used again and again, but these chips are expensive and way too heavy for our needs. I have two 12C509A in CERDIP housings for development, one of them is usually exposed to the light of an old tanning lamp that I use for erasing chips and exposing PCB material.

Regards, Jochen
jberg is offline Find More Posts by jberg
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2003, 05:00 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,508 Posts
Regular PIC12Cxxx dips and soics are not erasable.
PIC12CxxxJW is erasable and expensive.

Dave
david_dewit is offline Find More Posts by david_dewit
Last edited by david_dewit; Oct 29, 2003 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2003, 05:22 PM
Registered User
United States, PA, Canonsburg
Joined Sep 2001
185 Posts
Since the 12C5XXJW are actually not that expensive but the UV erasers are. Goldmine Has UV LEDs that I wondering if they could be used to erase these chips. check them out

http://sales.goldmine-elec.com/prodinfo.asp?prodid=7291
Skysailor is offline Find More Posts by Skysailor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
airwars "infra-red combat system for planes" Tree_Magnet Power Systems 15 Jan 08, 2008 09:41 PM
Discussion DIY conversion to infra red Tom Harper Aerial Photography 46 Jun 25, 2006 05:43 PM
Infra-Red Thermometer for Helis rscamp Electric Heli Talk 7 Jan 08, 2002 06:11 AM
airwars "infra-red combat system for planes" Tree_Magnet Foamies (Kits) 4 Aug 02, 2001 12:15 AM
Infra red transmitter and receiver for micro size aircraft Ron MIller Power Systems 2 May 28, 2001 09:51 AM