HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 19, 2011, 11:29 AM
Joined Dec 2011
138 Posts
Discussion
HK Bixler RTF vs ReadyMadeRC SkySurfer RTF

Hi all,

I'm new to RC:ing, been doing some primitive video recording using toy coax helis, and i want to get my first RC plane that can grow with me. My end goal, if i ever get there, is 2000ft+ FPV:ing and aerial photography. I have pretty much decided on the SkySurfer/Bixler plane, and being new I was thinking RTF is the way to go.

HobbyKing sells a mode-2 bixler rtf for $107:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ft_Radio_.html

RMRC sells this this SkySurfer v1 for $107

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=505

I had pretty much decided on the Bixler, but due to shipping the SkySurfer ends up much cheaper to my door. I understand that the bodies are virtually identical, they both use brushless motors, both use 2.4Ghz rx/tx although the Bixler comes with a 6chan hand unit. So, are there any real reasons for paying the extra shipping for the Bixler? E.g. motor known to be stronger, rx/tx known to have higher output/ longer rance etc?

A third option would be to get the Bixler ARF + individual rx/tx, esc, battery, charger etc since, unlike the Bixler RTF, HK sources these in the USA. This would also allow me to go with a 2200 battery, a true 6chan system (figure it may come in handy down the road), but I am worried about ordering parts that dont play nicely together, also, some was out of stock and while i would be willing to wait the month that HK indicated, i wouldnt want to wait much longer.

So - does anyone have experience with components shipped in either of these RTF-kits. I guess I'm interested in any kind of feedback

Thanks
fpvwannabe is offline Find More Posts by fpvwannabe
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:54 PM
Because gas is for BBQ's
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
729 Posts