HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 23, 2012, 08:27 AM
Joined Nov 2012
3 Posts
Discussion
Servo problems. HELP!!

The sail servo on my Joysway Focus 1m RC Yacht has suddenly decided to stop working. It has gone very tight and does nothing at all. The servo for the tiller is also behaving in an odd way, twitching as if there is some interference. Has anyone got any ideas? I'm fairly new to RC yachts so any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.
Gullukman is offline Find More Posts by Gullukman
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2012, 09:39 AM
Guz
Gutless wonder
Tempe, AZ
Joined Dec 2005
3,136 Posts
Replace the servo. Sounds like it may have gotten wet and gone bad. Standard servo's are cheap.
Guz is offline Find More Posts by Guz
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:28 AM
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
880 Posts
It may be a radio issue. Pull the receiver out and plug in to a generic servo and see if it works.
If that works, start by testing your servos in the boat. Hopefully that will yield some results.
Also see if there is an RC sailing club near you and ask for help, bet there would be someone there that could help you. Ryan
Rssailor is offline Find More Posts by Rssailor
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:54 PM
Joined Nov 2012
3 Posts
Many thanks for the help. I'll look into it.
Old Nov 24, 2012, 12:30 AM
Australia, TAS, Penguin
Joined Mar 2012
507 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gullukman View Post
The sail servo on my Joysway Focus 1m RC Yacht has suddenly decided to stop working. It has gone very tight and does nothing at all. The servo for the tiller is also behaving in an odd way, twitching as if there is some interference. Has anyone got any ideas? I'm fairly new to RC yachts so any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.
@Gullukman:
I believe that what you are describing is the classic symptoms of radio problems - it could be either a wet / corroded radio or radio interference as the two most likely causes.