SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old May 07, 2013, 10:17 PM
dharban is online now
Find More Posts by dharban
Flying = Falling (Slowly)
dharban's Avatar
Tulsa, OK
Joined May 2004
2,839 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkallev View Post
Don,

I run a Hyperion 2S LiFe in an Aspire, 6 digital servos ... in a typical OVSS TD contest where rounds are all 10-15 minutes, an hour of contest and walking out and back time takes about 350 mils out of the pack. I could contest that pack for both days without recharging and still have plenty of headroom for some fun.
I've been running Hyperion 2S LiFe's in the 850 and 1450 size because of weight-in-the-nose and space limitiations. I like them both, but the flat discharge curve of LiFe's kind of negates the accuracy of my battery meters so I am faced with keeping track of time, measuring the refill capacity and hoping I get it all right. Right now, I change the 1450 with every two of my power packs. It works, but it does not give me the same warm feeling that measuring LiPo voltage does. Today my battery meter showed the 1450 at 40 percent when it only took 160 mah on the recharge.

If the Scorpion Backup works, I think the redundancy will give me a little less to worry about.

Happy Landings,

Don
dharban is online now Find More Posts by dharban
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2013, 11:00 PM
GotLift9369 is offline
Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Registered User
GotLift9369's Avatar
United States, CA, Hesperia
Joined Mar 2009
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharban View Post
I've been running Hyperion 2S LiFe's in the 850 and 1450 size because of weight-in-the-nose and space limitiations. I like them both, but the flat discharge curve of LiFe's kind of negates the accuracy of my battery meters so I am faced with keeping track of time, measuring the refill capacity and hoping I get it all right. Right now, I change the 1450 with every two of my power packs. It works, but it does not give me the same warm feeling that measuring LiPo voltage does. Today my battery meter showed the 1450 at 40 percent when it only took 160 mah on the recharge.

If the Scorpion Backup works, I think the redundancy will give me a little less to worry about.

Happy Landings,

Don
That flat discharge curve is somewhat concerning and possibly deceiving. To a great extent this is what drove me back to the LIPO's. Good to hear someone else is experiencing the same thing.
I'm going to take a look at the Scorpion Backup solution also...basically it's the same thing as I'm currently doing, just smaller (as you say redundancy)...this is a good thing but got to remember to watch the charge condition on it!!!

Rick
GotLift9369 is offline Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2013, 11:40 PM
ChuckA is offline
Find More Posts by ChuckA
Registered User
Tennessee
Joined Sep 2003
2,403 Posts
Exactly how do you go about using a separate battery for the receiver? Just plug a seprate battery into the receiver or what.
ChuckA is offline Find More Posts by ChuckA
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2013, 02:19 AM
GotLift9369 is offline
Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Registered User
GotLift9369's Avatar
United States, CA, Hesperia
Joined Mar 2009
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckA View Post
Exactly how do you go about using a separate battery for the receiver? Just plug a seprate battery into the receiver or what.
Basically yes...and disable the BEC red supply lead from the ESC.
I generally do not even use a switch but a 3-pin Deans for the RX battery.
Rick
GotLift9369 is offline Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2013, 09:36 AM
JimNM is offline
Find More Posts by JimNM
WAA-08 THANK FRANK!
JimNM's Avatar
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Joined Jun 2002
7,489 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotLift9369 View Post
Basically yes...and disable the BEC red supply lead from the ESC.
I generally do not even use a switch but a 3-pin Deans for the RX battery.
Rick
I humbly suggest that you do not plug directly into the RX with the battery. There is considerable wear on the pin side of the junction that is not readily visible. You can damage the rx pins by plugging and unplugging repeatedly. For my DLGs I use a very short servo extension to act as a buffer for me to plug the battery into... .i.e. no wear on the RX.
JimNM is offline Find More Posts by JimNM
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2013, 11:48 AM
Piper J3 is offline
Find More Posts by Piper J3
Full Scale Piper Cub Driver
Piper J3's Avatar
Hinckley, Ohio
Joined Nov 2008
2,851 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharban View Post
Well Ed, your post got my curiosity up. I ordered one of the Scorpion Backup batteries and I am going to put it in my light Maxa and use it in conjunction with the onboard BEC that is a part of the CC Ice ESC in the plane. Scorpion generally makes real good stuff.

The onboard BEC is rated at 5 amps and is a switching BEC so heat shouldn't be a problem. I tested my system today and it draws about 0.7 amps with one servo stalled. We'll see how it works.

While I would never, never use the onboard BEC as a stand alone, the notion of a redundant backup system strikes me as being even better than using a totally separate radio battery. With this system TWO components have to fail before you have a problem. We'll see.

Happy Landings,

Don
Sorry for butting in... I have a Castle Phoenix ICE LITE 100 Amp ESC with 5amp switching BEC in my E-Pulsar 3.2REF. I’m running three digital Hitec’s and have the BEC set at 6V. The Pulsar has a slip-on nose so I have to connect the ESC to a pigtail from the Rx throttle each time I fly which is no problem. The pigtail and long servo extensions leading to the tail servos are 22 AWG. Lately I’ve been concerned (trouble sleeping at night) thinking about the small gauge wires from the ESC that feed the Rx. The CC wires are much thinner than the 22 AWG extensions I’m using and I notice this disparity each time I plug in the ESC. I don’t know what AWG CC uses but they don’t look any different than regular individual servo wires. I don’t know if I’d want to feed a full 5 amps. I guess CC must know what they’re doing. My $.02.

Piper J3
Piper J3 is offline Find More Posts by Piper J3
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2013, 01:38 PM
GotLift9369 is offline
Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Registered User
GotLift9369's Avatar
United States, CA, Hesperia
Joined Mar 2009
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNM View Post
I humbly suggest that you do not plug directly into the RX with the battery. There is considerable wear on the pin side of the junction that is not readily visible. You can damage the rx pins by plugging and unplugging repeatedly. For my DLGs I use a very short servo extension to act as a buffer for me to plug the battery into... .i.e. no wear on the RX.
Very good suggestion....As I stated I use a 3-prong Deans and this should have indicated to you that I'm not plugging and unplugging directly on the RX
GotLift9369 is offline Find More Posts by GotLift9369
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 10:46 AM
RV4flyr is offline
Find More Posts by RV4flyr
Registered User
RV4flyr's Avatar
Canada, ON, Brampton
Joined Mar 2011
145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
Sorry for butting in... I have a Castle Phoenix ICE LITE 100 Amp ESC with 5amp switching BEC in my E-Pulsar 3.2REF. Iím running three digital Hitecís and have the BEC set at 6V. The Pulsar has a slip-on nose so I have to connect the ESC to a pigtail from the Rx throttle each time I fly which is no problem. The pigtail and long servo extensions leading to the tail servos are 22 AWG. Lately Iíve been concerned (trouble sleeping at night) thinking about the small gauge wires from the ESC that feed the Rx. The CC wires are much thinner than the 22 AWG extensions Iím using and I notice this disparity each time I plug in the ESC. I donít know what AWG CC uses but they donít look any different than regular individual servo wires. I donít know if Iíd want to feed a full 5 amps. I guess CC must know what theyíre doing. My $.02.

Piper J3
I thought I would share similar concerns and observations.
I also have a CC Lite but 75A unit. It has the thin or say 22 awg wires for rx. connection.
I have since I have decided to go separate BEC with a new build (using a LiFe pack due to servos with voltage limit), I purchased a CC BEC (10 A unit) and they have increased the output/pwr wire size going to the rx., guessing maybe 18 gauge.....So I agree with your point...
I have to assume there are enough CC ESC's out there, we would have heard by now I would hope if there was a current issue with these thin pwr wires.
KF
RV4flyr is offline Find More Posts by RV4flyr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2015, 09:03 PM
GliderDriver45 is offline
Find More Posts by GliderDriver45
Registered User
Joined Jul 2005
78 Posts
Scorpion Backup Guard feedback?

anybody have any feedback on the Scorpion Backup Guard from innovative designs? am considering purchase .

Thanks
GliderDriver45 is offline Find More Posts by GliderDriver45
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What to do, what to do.... gettinout Electric Plane Talk 4 May 04, 2013 07:09 AM
Discussion OK, what do I do with this baby? nadt770 Radios 12 May 04, 2013 01:50 AM
Discussion What do we do in real life? (Part 2) scrtsqrl FPV Talk 9 Apr 30, 2013 10:31 AM
Video What do you do with your old habu kgschneider Foamy EDFs 3 Apr 27, 2013 06:24 PM
Discussion Which controller board to choose? What do i do when i get them? adlfurball Scratchbuilt Multirotors 24 Apr 11, 2013 06:54 PM