New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2015, 12:06 PM
speedyb_tx is offline
Find More Posts by speedyb_tx
Registered User
speedyb_tx's Avatar
United States, TX, Van Alstyne
Joined Dec 2014
312 Posts
Discussion
another dumb cnc router question :)

that might be hard to answer ?

here goes:

See designs with two leadscrews on either side of the X ? (long) axis.
Operated by two motors.

Soooo... it must be fairly easy to have them operate in perfect synch.

is that a function of Leadscrew "physics" or is it done through motor/software.
speedyb_tx is offline Find More Posts by speedyb_tx
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2015, 12:12 PM
saramos is offline
Find More Posts by saramos
Registered User
Joined Feb 2007
171 Posts
It is the nature of stepper motors that are used in these devices. Stepper motors move in specific increments in response to the control pulses. Both motors are given the same control signal and move identically (as long as they are rated the same) Typical step in in the neighborhood of 1.8 degrees. This result in 200 steps to make one full rotation. Many can micro-step to increase the resolution of the steps up to 16 times.

So the short answer is through the motor/software.

Scott
saramos is offline Find More Posts by saramos
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2015, 12:23 PM
speedyb_tx is offline
Find More Posts by speedyb_tx
Registered User
speedyb_tx's Avatar
United States, TX, Van Alstyne
Joined Dec 2014
312 Posts
thank you
speedyb_tx is offline Find More Posts by speedyb_tx
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2015, 07:50 PM
babblefish is offline
Find More Posts by babblefish
Yes, that is Jamie
babblefish's Avatar
SF Bay Area, CA
Joined Jul 2002
1,838 Posts
Just make sure both steppers are the same make and model...just in case.
babblefish is offline Find More Posts by babblefish
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2015, 03:26 AM
dpot is online now
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar
France, Auvergne, Lapalisse
Joined Dec 2005
1,058 Posts
can you wire two steppers together with a connector and driver it from x y or z driver outlet
dpot is online now Find More Posts by dpot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2015, 08:34 PM
babblefish is offline
Find More Posts by babblefish
Yes, that is Jamie
babblefish's Avatar
SF Bay Area, CA
Joined Jul 2002
1,838 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpot View Post
can you wire two steppers together with a connector and driver it from x y or z driver outlet
If you do that, you'll be doubling the current draw. Just make sure your driver boards can handle that.
babblefish is offline Find More Posts by babblefish
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2015, 08:48 AM
dpot is online now
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar
France, Auvergne, Lapalisse
Joined Dec 2005
1,058 Posts
thanks so to drive two screws one each side of a cnc router on the x axis i would need a 4 driver board XYZA and use A as slave to X
dpot is online now Find More Posts by dpot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2015, 09:07 PM
babblefish is offline
Find More Posts by babblefish
Yes, that is Jamie
babblefish's Avatar
SF Bay Area, CA
Joined Jul 2002
1,838 Posts
You could use two driver boards, one for each stepper, with both drvr boards connected to the same X port of your controller board. Not sure if there would be any sync issues doing this, so if anyone with more experience wants to chime in....
babblefish is offline Find More Posts by babblefish
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2015, 01:52 AM
Ronys is offline
Find More Posts by Ronys
Depron Panda
Ronys's Avatar
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Joined Feb 2006
114 Posts
Each stepper motor needs it's own driver. This cannot be shared.
When driving two motors together, both drivers needs to receive the step command in sync.
Ronys is offline Find More Posts by Ronys
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2015, 07:10 AM
RCWorks is offline
Find More Posts by RCWorks
Wing Cutter
RCWorks's Avatar
United States, OK, Anadarko
Joined Aug 2003
1,902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpot View Post
thanks so to drive two screws one each side of a cnc router on the x axis i would need a 4 driver board XYZA and use A as slave to X
You could slave off the DB25 on a 4 axis board
You could slave 2 of 4 driver boards from a breakout board
You could configure it in some software
You could use one motor and a toothed belt like an XL

If your build is good enough to use 1 screw you could use a 3 axis board...

Remember: I told you nothing.
RCWorks is offline Find More Posts by RCWorks
RCG Plus Member


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Zenbot 1624 cnc router pjf610 CAD/CAM 10 Dec 16, 2014 08:20 PM
Discussion Chinese CNC Router pjf610 CAD/CAM 23 Nov 15, 2014 01:55 PM
Help! Convertable 4 axis CNC foam to 3 axis Router? plasoneal CAD/CAM 4 Oct 30, 2014 10:23 AM
For Sale 5'x5' CNC Router f15pilot Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Oct 23, 2014 12:01 AM
Discussion Another dumb A9 question from me DLGjunkyard Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Sep 07, 2014 07:27 AM