SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Today, 12:20 AM
Joined Dec 2014
4 Posts
Discussion
Purchasing RC Plane for flyover Music Video footage

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this scene and am in the process of deciding which RC plane would be most suitable to facilitate flyover FPV cinematography. I'm opting not to use a drone because it seems decent FPV drones are much more expensive.

At this stage, my plan is to secure a Mobius 1080p camera (https://www.mobius-actioncam.com/) to either an RC Cessna 182, or a single rotor glider. From what I've read the camera is best positioned at the aircrafts center of gravity and I need a clear shot (preferably from the roof) without a propeller visible in frame. I'm hoping to get flyover footage through a valley and above a forest canopy. Some shots will require a degree of proximity flying (flying within a few meters of ground and trees).

Here's the Model I'm referring to: http://www.skyartec.com/ProductShow.asp?ArticleID=1875

What I'm hoping to work out here is which choice of aircraft would be most suitable for this type of footage. I need something with good maneuverability and stable enough to capture 5 - 10 seconds (for each pass or flyover) at a time of smooth footage with minimal vibration.

I presume the Cessna option would be preferable due to its size, wingspan, weight and power and controllability. My main concern is how I'll manage to position the Mobius camera on top of the cockpit area, without compromising the aerodynamic performance of the plane. The Cessna 182 has a 1 meter wingspan but I would need to prop the camera to a heightened level above the cockpit to get a clear shot above the propeller. I would likely layer tape together as a platform to raise the camera about 1 inch, then tape it down securely.