HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 16, 2013, 04:55 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,454 Posts
Build Log
Super Sportster 60 - Serious Bash

I usually post in RCU under kitbuilder but with this newe-er forum for builders I thought I would contribute with what I think is an interesting idea. With all my birds currently in "flyable" condition, I'm embarking on something I have been watiing to do for a bit. I enjoy the period from WWI through the Golden Age and thought I would take a Super Sportster kit I have and create a sort of fantasy scale golden age racer. I have built and modified many kits over the years but none to this extent. While the model will not be easily recognizable as a SS60, I don't plan to change the basic aerodynamic layout in order to hopefully ensure a successful outcome.

I picked the SS60 due to it having things that would help me out. I like fixed gear in the wings and this has them. Adding streamline struts, etc will also not be to bad. It's a very stable yet aerobatic design so moving the cockpit back a bit for example, rounding the fuselage, adding low profile faux ribs to the empenage top and bottom will enhance looks but should not get me in trouble. This will be my biggest bash to date so I'm all ears for questions, comments when I have questions and sly remarks .