HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:46 PM
Joined Dec 2012
3 Posts
Help!
Sounding Plane Airframe Design

I'm new to RC planes and I want to build a plane for sounding equipment (pressure sensor, thermometer, humidity sensor, etc) and came up with a design. My design goals were to have the plane be stable, able to fly slow and level, be able to carry the equipment, and run off of electricity.

Am I on the right path? What am I missing? Should I be approach this from a different angle.
NihilAliquis is offline Find More Posts by NihilAliquis
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 07, 2012, 06:33 PM
Raggistored Usehr
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,060 Posts
Why do you need to design a whole new plane? Just get an existing one that everyone knows will fly well.
gooby is offline Find More Posts by gooby
Old Dec 07, 2012, 07:12 PM
Joined Dec 2012
3 Posts
I haven't found a design that fit my needs yet. Is there one you suggest?
Old Dec 07, 2012, 07:28 PM
buyer of the farm
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Mar 2009
4,140 Posts
Okay, what in hades is an .skp file and what do I do with it. Based in what I see there's nothing there.

You are tailor-made to fit all that in a Storm Chaser by crashtesthobby.com

Storm Chaser without a pilot (3 min 58 sec)

What else could you possibly need?
Rockin Robbins is offline Find More Posts by Rockin Robbins
Last edited by Rockin Robbins; Dec 07, 2012 at 07:34 PM.
Old Dec 07, 2012, 07:29 PM
Joined Dec 2012
3 Posts
It's a CAD file for Sketchup.
Old Dec 07, 2012, 08:35 PM
buyer of the farm
Joined Mar 2009
4,140 Posts
Ya, looks like Google gobbled another company and........ Well, this is a twin boom, spanning elevator, flat center with raised tips design. It's quite an undertaking and once built would have to be rebuilt many times to optimize the design or just accept its shortfalls as found and claim they're features.....just like Microsoft!