HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 04, 2014, 01:00 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Dec 2005
21 Posts
Question
RFU signal out voltage level ?

I am going to power the RFU with 3 or 4 cell lipo for voltage telemetry. in this case , what is the signal (xtream or spektrum) voltage level? it is going to be connected to quadcopter controller ...
kylekyle is offline Find More Posts by kylekyle
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 04, 2014, 10:14 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,671 Posts
You can't power it with a 3S or 4S pack, that would put it over the maximum of 10v input. The signal output voltage is always 3.3v.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by JimDrew; Jun 05, 2014 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 04, 2014, 11:38 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Dec 2005
21 Posts
thank you for clarification.
kylekyle is offline Find More Posts by kylekyle
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2014, 09:55 AM
Fool on a Hill
Joined Apr 2014
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
You can't power it with a 4S pack, that would put it over the maximum of 16v input. The signal output voltage is always 3.3v.
Oh drat. If you could have only set up the RFU to have a max voltage of, say, 18v, then 4s packs would have been easy peasy (4.2v x 4 = just 16.8v).

So what's the best and easiest answer to power the RFU in a 4S airplane... have it's own 5-cell NimH battery (6v) for power?
Some other setup?

Forgive me but I'm not terribly smart about this stuff.
Depot is offline Find More Posts by Depot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2014, 10:44 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,671 Posts
I just rechecked the datasheet for the voltage regulator that was used. I need to go back and change the product info I think. The voltage regulator has a maximum input voltage of 10v. Which means a 2S Lipo would work, a 3S (or more) Lipo will not!
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2014, 12:04 PM
Fool on a Hill
Joined Apr 2014
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I just rechecked the datasheet for the voltage regulator that was used. I need to go back and change the product info I think. The voltage regulator has a maximum input voltage of 10v. Which means a 2S Lipo would work, a 3S (or more) Lipo will not!
Now aren't you glad I brought that up?!!

OK, so now you can't run the RFU on anything more than a 2S.
Does that put us back to where it would be best to run the RFU off of it's own battery (4.8v or 6v NimH?) just to keep things safe?
Depot is offline Find More Posts by Depot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2014, 10:32 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,671 Posts
There are no SBUS devices that work on more than a 2S setup. So, I would power the RFU with whatever is accepting the SBUS signal.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2014, 10:45 AM
Stress Be Gone
GBR2's Avatar
Snohomish, WA
Joined May 2000
3,373 Posts
So the manual also needs to be changed as it says the RFU operates from 1.8v to 16v.
GBR2 is offline Find More Posts by GBR2
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2014, 11:07 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,671 Posts
The v1.1 manual says 1.8 to 10v.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hawkeye TX with Orange RX RSSI Voltage level. Zector123 FPV Talk 3 Jan 19, 2014 03:21 PM
Discussion entry-level electrical signal testing gear? changosurf DIY Electronics 23 Dec 04, 2013 02:29 PM
Help! Video Fades out/loses Signal Over Time cyber_06_wolf FPV Equipment 2 Nov 19, 2013 10:54 PM
Discussion Servo signal voltage SuperCamel Power Systems 2 Nov 16, 2013 01:55 AM
Question ESC minimum signal level voltage bjr_93tz Castle Creations 2 Aug 10, 2009 06:26 AM