HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 18, 2006, 01:40 PM
Fly Fly Fly Crash
Montrose Co
Joined Aug 2005
3,008 Posts
Help!
Lathe work needed. Please help

Hi , besides being a RC pilot, I collect old fly reels. Many have bad wooden knobs.Is there anyone out there that can make me some? They are a very simple design.I could send you one of each design (4) and you could copy them. I have many reels that need the new knobs. They could be made on one piece of wood and then cut off to the individual knobs. Pm me or email me at Bailareno@gmail.com . Thanks Rich
Dragon 2 is online now Find More Posts by Dragon 2
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 18, 2006, 02:45 PM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,688 Posts
You can turn wood with a drill held on a vice if needs be..its really easy. Just need somewhere steady to hold a sharp chisel or gouge...still if someone has the lathe...good luck!
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Old Mar 18, 2006, 04:59 PM
Fly Fly Fly Crash
Montrose Co
Joined Aug 2005
3,008 Posts
lathe work

I tried that and the results were marginal. On a lathe someone could make 5 or 6 at a time. I though maybe someone who is retired would like a job like this. Thanks Rich
Old Mar 19, 2006, 11:27 AM
Joined Jan 2003
6,920 Posts
Get in touch with your local high school shop classes.
slopemeno is online now Find More Posts by slopemeno
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Goat Rock Threads
Old Mar 19, 2006, 01:44 PM
Fly Fly Fly Crash
Montrose Co
Joined Aug 2005
3,008 Posts
slopemeno

Thats a good Idea. I will try that. But I would like to find someone else so I can get more made without going back to the school.Thanks Rich
Old Mar 19, 2006, 03:26 PM
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
11,224 Posts