Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:00 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Bob,

Wanted to thank you for offering to help - been real busy lately - mostly flying and having a blast with this OSD -

It is an awesome thing that Dennis has made this available for us all -

Not being an electrical engineer, I think it is amazing that I was able to build this and even tweak it a bit myself - I am not speaking of my ability, I am speaking of the amazing job Dennis has done in bringing it down to my level. ie one who sometimes needs "hook up diagrams" as opposed to complicated schematics.

I always felt that if someone really knows their topic, they can bring it down and speak at whatever level the other person is ~ I think Dennis fits this category !

I can only understand about 3 or 4 % of this thread but that's ok - I was able to build it and fly with it and even tweak it a bit. I'm looking forward one day to possibly modify it to be able to toggle the coordinates for example. No Dennis, I know you don't need this and I don't want you to do it for me. If someone else does it that's cool.

I just flew my first successful FPV takoff and landing a few days ago - Now I can't stop.

I have probably done 30 or so small 6 minute flights in the wash and brush out behind our home. And to think I did it all with this OSD that I soldered and put together "myself " is really cool !! (with Dennis's help)

Thank you again Dennis
Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated
There is still some cleaning and improvement to do in the code, but it should be a pretty good start.

GPS-coordinates is on the to-do list and also something I plan to add (I also like GPS-coordinates myself, just in case), I just don't have the time or patience, to make the required small characters at the moment (just let me know if anyone is up to the task, it's pretty simple but takes time).
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:11 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Well I can get one with arduino nano bootloader for 5$ including shipping and also including a 16MHz crystal for that price.
That's not as bad I would have expected. The crystal is most likely another one than I'm using, but an acceptable price if you just need a few microcontrollers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob4432 View Post
Problem then becomes Dennis has to design around whatever crystal they are giving to. I heavily vote ISP headers at the very least.
The TH crystals are quite big for a "small" design, but they are tempting, as the price is quite good. But with that being said, SMD crystals are just nice in a smaller design. As you mentioned, normal component availability, price and standards just yells ISP header.

The new design is pretty much done, so an ISP header is available for those who wanna use it.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,401 Posts
Cool, otherwise would that nano bootloader work ok? Or do I need some other bootloader?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:15 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Cool, otherwise would that nano bootloader work ok? Or do I need some other bootloader?
Any bootloader for Atmega328 should be fine (also the one for Arduino Nano).
Just out of curiosity, do you have a link?
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 05:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,401 Posts
Sure, just don't buy them all before I buy one lol : http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATMEGA328P-A...item1c2d879f2e
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 09:32 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated
There is still some cleaning and improvement to do in the code, but it should be a pretty good start.

GPS-coordinates is on the to-do list and also something I plan to add (I also like GPS-coordinates myself, just in case), I just don't have the time or patience, to make the required small characters at the moment (just let me know if anyone is up to the task, it's pretty simple but takes time).
Dennis, if you can point me in the right direction maybe I could do it ?.. let me look into it a bit .
Is it this kind of stuff ?

// T char
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,
0,2,2,2,2,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,
0,0,0,2,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Last edited by RickEis; Dec 07, 2012 at 09:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:33 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Okay, the "problem" with small characters...

MAX7456 uses characters at 12 x 16 pixels. Each character can be edited, but you can only change an entire character - meaning 12 x 16 pixels. If you need to make smaller characters, like done with SPD, CUR, LOS etc. you write multiple characters in one MAX7456 character. SPD as an example have SP in one character and D on the last character. That's the only way to write smaller text.

Writing small numbers.. Well, that's a little tricky as you need to make all the characters like 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 etc. and all the way up to 99. And even then it's a little tricky to use nicely.

It should be possible to make 0-9 characters and upload them right with a little for-loop.

I'll look into it sooner or later, just not the first thing on the list
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 09:43 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
With ISP-header..
And all components changed to 0805 size, except 4 x 1206 capacitors
LED added in the corner as well (just shown as 2 resistors)


Flytron GPS should fit perfect, with all I2C, ISP header etc. available.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Dec 08, 2012 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 02:07 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis, if you can point me in the right direction maybe I could do it ?.. let me look into it a bit .
Is it this kind of stuff ?

// T char
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,
0,2,2,2,2,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,
0,0,0,2,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,2,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
0,1,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,
I've added the small numbers for GPS-coordinates etc.
They are made with a little for-loop, so the characters can be changed pretty easy.

Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 04:16 PM
Registered User
bob4432's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined May 2010
1,820 Posts
I like it
bob4432 is offline Find More Posts by bob4432
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 06:00 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob4432 View Post
I like it
Thanks

The GPS-coordinates have been added and works
The position of GPS-coordinates can just be changed in config, the position was just a test.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:19 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Whoa Dennis, you were not supposed to do that - I never even had a chance to see what you had to do so I could help !!! Looks very cool.... Excellent job!

The last two days I have been FPV'n in a copter using this OSD around the desert floor behind our home in Arizona. It has been awesome to see and record the time, speed, elevation etc

I've been concerned about flying over the brush for fear I would never find the copter if it went down....this will help alleviate that concern.

Can't wait to try it out

Rick
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:36 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Whoa Dennis, you were not supposed to do that - I never even had a chance to see what you had to do so I could help !!! Looks very cool.... Excellent job!

The last two days I have been FPV'n in a copter using this OSD around the desert floor behind our home in Arizona. It has been awesome to see and record the time, speed, elevation etc

I've been concerned about flying over the brush for fear I would never find the copter if it went down....this will help alleviate that concern.

Can't wait to try it out

Rick
No worries, I solved it another way. I ended up with a nice piece little piece of code to generate all the necessary characters instead. That makes it a lot easier if you wanna change the numbers, make them a little bigger etc.

They are written like this (from 0-9) and automatic combined:
1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,1,0,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,
1,0,2,2,0,1,
0,2,0,2,0,1,
0,0,0,2,0,1,
0,2,2,2,2,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:49 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Dennis,
Interesting, so MAX7456 can use characters at 6 x 8 pixels.
So do these sit in the CharSet.h file and we can tweak them there if desired ?
Rick

tweaked

1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,1,0,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,
1,0,2,2,0,1,
0,0,0,2,0,1,
0,0,0,2,0,1,
0,0,2,2,2,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Last edited by RickEis; Dec 09, 2012 at 01:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2012, 07:54 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Dennis,
Interesting, so MAX7456 can use characters at 6 x 8 pixels.
So do these sit in the CharSet.h file and we can tweak them there if desired ?
Rick

tweaked

1,1,1,1,1,1,
1,1,1,0,1,1,
1,1,0,2,0,1,
1,0,2,2,0,1,
0,0,0,2,0,1,
0,0,0,2,0,1,
0,0,2,2,2,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,
You can tweak the 0-9 chars all you want, as long as you keep the 6 x 8 pixels format (I will most likely extend it to 6 x 12 or something like that).

But MAX7456 don't support 6x8 pixels, they are just being put together as 12 x 18 pixels chars.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 05:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 10:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 03:50 PM