HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 16, 2014, 05:04 AM
Berkshire U.K.
Joined Oct 2006
589 Posts
Build Log
Amateur Building a EE Lightning

As a Christmas project I've decided to build a EE Lightning.

I chose this plane as it got quite a simple shape and I can mount the motor in the nose. And it's silver.

I'm new to corex but I have loads so I can make plenty of mistakes. I quite like how it's fallen out of favour and it's the underdog of materials.

First hurdle, there don't appear to be many plans. I built a Hans Jocaim spit and a p 51 many years ago and I think the same principles can apply here. I traced a 3 view in sketchup and printed it off for the prototype.

I'll hopefully start building this evening.

Cheers
Andrew
Andrew u.k. is online now Find More Posts by Andrew u.k.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 16, 2014, 07:25 AM
Berkshire U.K.
Joined Oct 2006
589 Posts
I think I will need around 1.89m2 of 2mm corex to build the Lightning. This should weigh with glue about 100g. I'm hoping the AUW will be 1kg. We'll see.......
Old Dec 18, 2014, 01:36 AM
Berkshire U.K.
Joined Oct 2006
589 Posts
I've been working on the design of the wing. It's going to be a wrap over. Each wing will be built independently so I can get the flutes travelling the right way. I'm experimenting both ways, across and with the chord.
Old Dec 18, 2014, 07:07 AM
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined May 2012
480 Posts
What span are you planning? If you are sticking to the conventional parkjet dimensions of 600-700mm span, you want to target an AUW of 600g and hope that you eventually come in under 700g.

BTW, I assume that its just a typo in the second post....1.89m2 of correx is a very large piece and is going to weigh a lot more than 100g, given that 2mm correx weights ~330-350g/m2
Extreme Sports is offline Find More Posts by Extreme Sports
Old Dec 18, 2014, 11:01 AM
Berkshire U.K.
Joined Oct 2006
589 Posts
I need to check my maths again. You're correct.