HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:29 PM
Newnan, GA
Joined Oct 2002
2,087 Posts
Discussion
GMP Cricket T Copter Conversion - Need some help.

I have an idea for my next project but don't really know what its going to take to make it fly. What are the concerns of a T Copter Design like this where the COG is right over the front of the T booms?

What I am wanting to do is modernize a GMP Cricket that I have. I love the vintage and super simplistic nature of the GMP and the old styling and I think this captures that pretty well but it should give me some better performance than the old fixed pitch under powered nitro that they generally where.

So far I have been modeling it some in Sketch Up and will fine tune it later.

Like I said earlier, I have no experience with this style of T copter. I have only build and tuned traditional T's and Tri's where the COG is still center of the prop triangle.

Can any of you lend some experience or insight as to what I should expect? I plan on flying this with a Copter Control Board.

Thanks.
Matt Chester is offline Find More Posts by Matt Chester
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:02 PM
<Marty>
United States, KY, Springfield
Joined Jul 2011
1,924 Posts
one way you could test out how a T would fly or react is to take one you have and place the battery up front enough to simulate a CG in the general area you are asking about...
magic_marty is online now Find More Posts by magic_marty
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:34 PM
Newnan, GA
Joined Oct 2002
2,087 Posts
No one else has done this before?

I guess I need to try another forum for help with this one.
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:58 PM
Unregistered User
White Rock BC/Blaine WA
Joined Apr 2007
595 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Chester View Post
I have only build and tuned traditional T's and Tri's where the COG is still center of the prop triangle.