HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 10, 2011, 12:52 PM
CO
Joined Sep 2005
93 Posts
Discussion
DLE 30CC battery setup

I bought a Sbach with a 30cc DLE and being I am new to the gasoline engines, I was hoping somebody might be able to help. I understand that the engine needs needs between 4.8 and 6 volts for the ignition system. What size, voltage and type of battery is recommended? Lipo, Nimh, Nicad etc.? Would you run a higher voltage and put a regulator on it? Thanks for the help!
ctyankee is offline Find More Posts by ctyankee
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2011, 02:27 PM
Standish, Maine
Joined Mar 2008
38 Posts
I use a 1500 mah 4.8 volt nimh on the ignition. Plenty for 5 to 6 fifteen minute flights. I like to keep it simple. You can use Lipo, but you should use a regulator. Do you have the Pilot R/C Sbach? That's what I have. You will love the way it flies!
schizm is offline Find More Posts by schizm
Old Aug 10, 2011, 04:27 PM
Gas Only
USA So. Cal.
Joined Sep 2010
1,078 Posts
My DLE 30 was good for a whole weekend of flying with a 7.4V 2600Mahr LIPO battery. But you need a regulator with that.
Fokker DII is online now Find More Posts by Fokker DII
Old Aug 10, 2011, 04:29 PM
CO
Joined Sep 2005
93 Posts
Thanks for the info. Do you know if there is any advantage or disadvantage to running the higher end of the volts or low end? Yes, I bought the Pilot. I am very impressed with the quality! I told my wife that if it flys as good as it looks it ought to be a real winner. I am not much into 3d (still struggling with learning!). I enjoy aerobatics though.
ctyankee is offline Find More Posts by ctyankee
Old Aug 10, 2011, 04:47 PM
Standish, Maine
Joined Mar 2008
38 Posts