New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2015, 10:03 AM
limmacslim is offline
Find More Posts by limmacslim
Registered User
limmacslim's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2012
1,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Econoline View Post
Got it together and ready to maiden, but I'm concerned about having the CG right.

I'd like to use the hang angle method to be sure I'm in the ballpark, and I understand the concept, but I'm unclear on the meaning of "15 nose down". Not sure what to measure that 15 against on the airframe. The obvious straight edges are the CF tail boom or the front vertical support on the rotor tower. Could someone tell me what either of those angles ought to be for a proper 15 nose down? Thanks guys.

I just checked it by eye comparing to the picture in the manual, with a 3S 1300mah lipo (120g) under the hatch it seems to be spot on. If you are using the correct size lipo you shouldn't have any problems.
limmacslim is offline Find More Posts by limmacslim
Last edited by limmacslim; Apr 30, 2015 at 04:23 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2015, 12:49 PM
Econoline is offline
Find More Posts by Econoline
Registered User
Econoline's Avatar
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Nov 2007
171 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by limmacslim View Post
I just checked it by eye comparing to the picture in the manual, with a 3S 1300mah lipo (120g) under the hatch it seems to spot on. If you are using the correct size lipo you shouldn't have any problems.
Yes, using a 3S 1300mAH Nano, weighs about 115g. I'll go with that, and there is some down angle in the nose on the hang test.

Another thing I may have to correct though. I eliminated the Y-cable for rotor servos and just used a rx channel for each since I had a 6ch rx. I liked that because I could use subtrim to perfectly center the two servos. But, when I connect rx power there is a servo glitch that occasionally makes the rotor servos move against each other, possibly causing gear damage. So the better idea is probably to use the Y-cable on push-pull servo configurations so they glitch in the same direction
Econoline is offline Find More Posts by Econoline
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 12:56 PM
Sammy70 is offline
Find More Posts by Sammy70
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,982 Posts
Try re-binding your Tx/Rx now that you have all your subtrims/directions set up and your "glitch" should go away
Sammy70 is offline Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 01:31 PM
SteveT. is offline
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
30,162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy70 View Post
Try re-binding your Tx/Rx now that you have all your subtrims/directions set up and your "glitch" should go away
Agreed... Re-binding is something that should always be done after a final set-up, or after making any changes to a bound system. Before I found this out, one of my planes that had dual elevator servos would "waggle" the elevators very hard for a second, then settle out. I showed a friend one day and he told me to re-bind the receiver and it went away, and never did it again..

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 03:32 PM
frater is offline
Find More Posts by frater
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Agreed... Re-binding is something that should always be done after a final set-up, or after making any changes to a bound system.
Not really a generic advice. Such an anomaly applies to a certain brand. Probably beginning with an S.
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 05:10 PM
Econoline is offline
Find More Posts by Econoline
Registered User
Econoline's Avatar
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Nov 2007
171 Posts
^^^ Okay, I went back and did a re-bind, but that had no affect on the glitching. The glitch actually causes the control rods to bow as the rotor servos move in opposition. So I returning to a Y-cable before I damage a servo or both.

Radio is a Taranis with X6R rx.
Econoline is offline Find More Posts by Econoline
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2015, 05:22 PM
SteveT. is offline
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
30,162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frater View Post
Not really a generic advice. Such an anomaly applies to a certain brand. Probably beginning with an S.
Doesn't hurt with any brand.... but of course I wouldn't know about Futabas as there is no way in H%&& I would fly with one. Completely destroying a brand new expensive helicopter due to a brand Futaba that had just been returned from their customer service after a previous problem right out of the box took care of that for me...

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2015, 01:17 PM
frater is offline
Find More Posts by frater
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Doesn't hurt with any brand....
Doesn't hurt to copy a model and delete the original, but why would you do it.

If it's a cure for a buggy system fault then go ahead. Not necessary and a waste of time on systems that don't have that problem.
frater is offline Find More Posts by frater
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2015, 01:46 PM
Cyclone Steve is offline
Find More Posts by Cyclone Steve
My head in the clouds!
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Mar 2014
337 Posts
Auto-G2 on sale. Check it out
Cyclone Steve is offline Find More Posts by Cyclone Steve
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2015, 02:15 PM
Econoline is offline
Find More Posts by Econoline
Registered User
Econoline's Avatar
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Nov 2007
171 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone Steve View Post
Auto-G2 on sale. Check it out
Good find. I may soon need another one for parts.
Econoline is offline Find More Posts by Econoline
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2015, 02:49 PM
Cyclone Steve is offline
Find More Posts by Cyclone Steve
My head in the clouds!
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Mar 2014
337 Posts
I've had the first version for a while and It really was a pain to take off with out wind so I ordered the G2! So my G1 will be my parts plane.
Cyclone Steve is offline Find More Posts by Cyclone Steve
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Slow-g slow stick auto gyro HyperHelis Auto Gyros 4 May 23, 2012 08:14 PM
Sold Zenoah G-23 w/muffler and FEMA auto start LotusTRBO Aircraft - Fuel - Engines and Accessories (FS/W) 1 Jul 05, 2006 11:27 PM
Discussion Xero G Auto. epc2 Electric Heli Talk 2 Apr 01, 2006 07:08 PM
Video Xero G Auto. epc2 Electric Heli Talk 0 Apr 01, 2006 02:35 PM