Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Thread Tools
Old Mar 21, 2016, 11:16 AM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
Discussion
Help! KK 2.1.5 Servo pass through

Hello,

Does anybody out there have any idea on how to get a pwm signal out of the output rail on a KK 2.1.5? Run ing Steveis firmware?

In other words "Servo pass through" like on the APM boards...

I am running an FRSKY D4R II in CPPM mode into the KK, and am trying to get my flytron strobe units to work from a switch on my taranis from ch 6 and 7 (2 units)

The rail is powered by a step down converter at 3.5V for the led strobes, which actually work in stand alone mode, when the signal wires are pulled from the rail. ( not in unison though)

I do not believe that it is a setting on the Tx side, as I have the self level switch set up the same way, and it functions properly.

What am I missing? I read the manual, and there was nothing stated. Do I have to enable the gimbal settings to get a signal from 6, and 7? Or even 8?
I hope it doesn't need a firmware mod that would be a bummer...

Any positive suggestions would be appreciated
Ted
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 22, 2016, 07:24 AM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
FA3PR9WM79
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
6,199 Posts
Not gonna happen. That board does not support PWM pass through, and that receiver has a maximum of 4 PWM channels. You need a different receiver.
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 09:16 AM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
I see, no biggie thank you for the reply
Ted
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 09:20 AM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
Ahhhh, a thought. ... I understand what you have stated, but the tricopter firmware allows a servo, and the gimble setup does also, so it is possible I would think, for a code writer which I am not. Maybe I could submit it to steveis. Just as an update.
Thanks
Ted
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 09:32 AM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
FA3PR9WM79
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
6,199 Posts
What radio are you using?
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 10:03 AM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
Taranis plus
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Last edited by flashted; Mar 22, 2016 at 12:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 12:05 PM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
FA3PR9WM79
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
6,199 Posts
You should be able to bind to an X6R in D16 mode with jumpers on 1&2 and 3&4. This will give you channels 1-8 on PPM and 9-14 on the PWM outputs..
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 12:18 PM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
Interesting, I will look into it for sure, thank you for your response.
Ted
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2016, 12:28 PM
Oldgazer is offline
Find More Posts by Oldgazer
FA3PR9WM79
Oldgazer's Avatar
United States, VA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2013
6,199 Posts
No problem.

I have a Taranis X9E (which came with an X6R receiver) and I'm using a Pixhawk on one aircraft, and an APM on another with both running PPM. I'm using X8R receivers.

The Pixhawk is on a hex with retracts and a 2 axis gimbal. I use channel 9 to control gimbal pitch and channel 10 to control the retracts.

The X6R is in a 250 FPV racer that I fly with Fly Sky TH9X/XJT module. The FC is a CC3D setup for PPM, but I'm only using 5 channels..
Oldgazer is offline Find More Posts by Oldgazer
Last edited by Oldgazer; Mar 22, 2016 at 12:29 PM. Reason: I fat fingered the crap out of this one....
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2016, 06:53 AM
flashted is offline
Find More Posts by flashted
"Come and take it B'yatch"
flashted's Avatar
United States, FL, Coral Springs
Joined Sep 2008
102 Posts
Here is a smaller solution setup like yours mentioned, check it out
Thank you. I may go this route in the future.

http://www.readytoflyquads.com/frsky...m-without-pins

Also, I PM'ed steveis. He said it is possible through the gimbal settings.

Quote:
"Hi,

as per page 9 of my manual:

Trick to map receiver outputs to motor outputs – If you have a CPPM, Satellite or SBus receiver and you’re not using outputs M7 or M8, you can mirror Ch6 & Ch7 to the M7 & M8 outputs by setting both the Roll and Pitch gains to 1 and selecting Misc. Settings 2, Gimbal Control, “6&7”. You could then connect a receiver controlled switch to M7 and/or M8 and control it using your transmitter."

Good luck.

Thanks again,
Ted
flashted is offline Find More Posts by flashted
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold KK Flight Controllers: KK2.0 / KK2.1 / KK2.1.5 / KK 2.1.5 Mini - with buzzers/cases! upupupandaway Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Dec 01, 2015 03:24 PM
Sold KK 2.1.5 and KK 2.1.5 China version dirdredd Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Apr 14, 2015 03:07 PM
Question KK 2.1.5 quad+ servo help mrpotatohead2234 Multirotor Electronics 6 Dec 17, 2014 07:54 AM
Discussion Kk 2.0 (1.2, 1.5, 1.6); kk2.1; kk2.1.5 griesel Multirotor Talk 1 May 02, 2014 01:38 PM