SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:10 PM
fernie bc canada
Joined Dec 2009
511 Posts
Question
sport plane recomendation please

I have been flying helis 500-600 size for a couple years now , most of thw RC guys here have planes , so I thought I will get one for this spring .

I don't really want to buy a beginner plane that will get boring after a few days ...
I can fly most of them on the SIM , I know that's different ...

anyhow , looking for a mid size plane , electric only, in the $200-300 range
I call it sport , not sure what's the proper term ...

I have a DX7-DX8 radio .
cheers
joliecoeur13 is offline Find More Posts by joliecoeur13
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:34 PM
Senile Member
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
5,887 Posts
If an airplane driver wanted to get into helicopters would you recommend he start with a sport model rather than a beginner's model?

Larry
Lnagel is offline Find More Posts by Lnagel
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:34 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2012
16 Posts
Do you want fast or aerobatic? I think warbirds make good sport planes. My newest addition that qualifies as a sport plane if the $55 falcon pusher from nitroplanes, but if you haven't built a plane before I would look for better quality. It, and other cheap arfs, can require a bit of work to get correct.

Since you are new to fixed wing, I would suggest something like a cub.
Dont be suprised if you fly fixed wing more because of the minimal maintenance.
Desert Rider is offline Find More Posts by Desert Rider
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:35 PM
Livermore, CA
Joined Sep 2004
8,579 Posts
One option would be a EPP aerobatic plane like the SuperZoom, built as a parkflyer.
I have had many beginners fly mine, because I set it up Lite, so it flys quite slow and is a decent size.
Plus its EPP and will take alot more abuse than most.
Butch777 is offline Find More Posts by Butch777
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:37 PM