HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 08, 2012, 12:22 PM
I know nothing about RC
United States, NY, Northport
Joined Jul 2012
5 Posts
Discussion
What do you guys do with your Old RC Toys?

Hello Everyone This is my first time posting here. I was curious what do any of you guys do if you find any unused Radio Shack 4x4's that does not now have the transmitter? In addition I have a Tyco RC Hovercraft with a Transmitter. They look great and used to run great. I have got new NiCD packs and they turn on and lights and the hovercraft rises. I just have no way to control and handle them all. I know you can tell by the nature of this question that I am definite noob to RC. I only have been flying a Blade micro quad copter. If anyone can please offer any suggestions on how I can enjoy these toys again. Please let me know and I Thank You Very Much in advance.
Sherlock221B is offline Find More Posts by Sherlock221B
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:42 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,372 Posts
If you want to put in the money and effort, you could probably retrofit them with industry-standard components (ESCs, radios, servos). You'd end up with vehicles that are better than they were when they were brand-new.

Other than that, they're mostly just paperweights. You might be able to find original transmitters for them on eBay or something, but I doubt there's much of a supply out there.
C₄H₁₀ is offline Find More Posts by C₄H₁₀
Old Aug 17, 2012, 02:29 AM View Post
barry3065
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Cross-posting. Show it to me anyway.
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:28 PM
Queens, NY and sometimes Orlando, FL
Joined Sep 2003
329 Posts
EBay or Craigslist I say

Store brand R/C's just aren't worth keeping, but there always folks out there looking to either kit bash for scale hobby projects and even some that want to relive a childhood experience