HorizonHobby.com Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Thread Tools
Old Feb 05, 2016, 01:54 AM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Discussion
Bad batteries?

So I have this battery set up on a Cap 232 with a 120cc Spektrum reciever with Hitec 5645s and the system works great. So I got the same battery setup for a Yak 55 and after a short maiden flight I checked the batteries and they were almost dead. Re testes and the same thing. Bad batteries? It's the set up from Troybuit models.
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Last edited by Shumie; Feb 05, 2016 at 01:57 AM. Reason: Wrong paste
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 05, 2016, 03:35 AM
abenn is offline
Find More Posts by abenn
Registered User
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
13,273 Posts
Have you checked how many amps the radio and servos are drawing in your Yak? Maybe there's a faulty servo that's drawing too many amps.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2016, 03:53 AM
Ira NZ is offline
Find More Posts by Ira NZ
Bombs away! Err...landing
Ira NZ's Avatar
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Joined Apr 2006
3,188 Posts
Yup, I agree. We need to know how much you're drawing, specs of the batteries, specs of the bec(I'm assuming you're using one) etc. All you've really told us is "I had a battery in one plane, I put it in another and it went flat."
Ira NZ is offline Find More Posts by Ira NZ
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 06:12 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
How to check?

All right school me how do I check how many amps I'm drawing?
Thanks
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 06:22 PM
cmdl is online now
Find More Posts by cmdl
http://www.sgvhumane.org/
cmdl's Avatar
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
10,722 Posts
Put one of these http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arch=wattmeter between the ESC and the lipo.
cmdl is online now Find More Posts by cmdl
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 06:24 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Thanks

Right on thanks
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 06:25 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Gas

Just so you know this is a 50cc gas plane with LiFe batteries no ESC
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 10:09 PM
ggcrandall1 is offline
Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
USA, GA, Marietta
Joined Aug 2005
7,796 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumie View Post
So I have this battery set up on a Cap 232 with a 120cc Spektrum reciever with Hitec 5645s and the system works great. So I got the same battery setup for a Yak 55 and after a short maiden flight I checked the batteries and they were almost dead. Re testes and the same thing. Bad batteries? It's the set up from Troybuit models.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumie View Post
All right school me how do I check how many amps I'm drawing?
Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumie View Post
Just so you know this is a 50cc gas plane with LiFe batteries no ESC
Please specify exactly what battery you are using.
Then what battery charger are you using and how you set up the charge.

It also helps if you include links to the equipment. That way there will be less speculation in the replies you get.

Glen
ggcrandall1 is offline Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 03:44 AM
abenn is offline
Find More Posts by abenn
Registered User
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
13,273 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumie View Post
All right school me how do I check how many amps I'm drawing?
Thanks
A wattmeter is used for electric models to measure the amps and power drawn by the motor, but may be too insensitive for the, hopefully, small amps draw of the receiver and servos. If you have a digital meter you can make up or buy a short servo extension lead, make a break in its red wire, then insert the harness between the battery and receiver and put the meter probes or clips across the break to measure the amps that are flowing.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 02:25 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Thanks

Right on thanks abenn
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 05:00 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Setup

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/items/TBMPOWERSYS4.html
Batteries
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 05:04 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Charger

http://hitecrcd.com/products/charger...harger/product
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 05:09 PM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Mode

In my other identical set up I've charged it in the same manner.
LiFe mode
1.8 amps
auto
Through the JR plug at the switch
Thanks man.
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 03:19 AM
abenn is offline
Find More Posts by abenn
Registered User
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
13,273 Posts
OK, so the first thing to do is still to find out how many amps the system is taking. Since we now know you have a bunch of electronics there to power the ignition as well as the radio, I suggest you measure the amps with only the radio connected, and then again with everything connected. That way you can narrow down where the amps are going.

1.8A charge rate sounds okay for the battery, by the way, so long as you're letting the charger complete the charge. It could take up to 2 hours at that charge rate.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2016, 11:51 AM
Shumie is offline
Find More Posts by Shumie
Registered User
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2013
22 Posts
Watt meter

Getting a watt meter today
Shumie is offline Find More Posts by Shumie
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Traxxas XO1 with bad ESC and batteries ton2di Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 2 Apr 26, 2015 07:51 PM
Help! bad charger or bad battery, how to tell which one? giantkevmiester Batteries and Chargers 11 Jan 02, 2012 12:04 PM
Discussion eflypower.com bad align battery & bad service OzDragonFlyer Vendor Talk 3 Sep 19, 2007 07:17 PM
Bad battery... NImh bad , bad... gulio Batteries and Chargers 7 May 24, 2005 09:16 PM
Help! bad motor or bad battery beginningdave Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 May 14, 2005 04:11 PM