Old Feb 03, 2016, 09:29 AM
Find More Posts by Planery
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2015
150 Posts
Discussion
Opinion needed!! First DLG scratch build

Hello all,
This is my first attempt for a DLG, I made it based on Manta V2 Plans.

I made the wing out of 4mm Balsa, sanded to a air foil, and control surfaces using 2mm balsa.

Used 2 mm Carbon fiber rod

Im not sure what to use to glue the balsa together, I used some hotglue to hold bits in place, while the white glue (elmer's brand) settles. Is white glue good for woods?

What are some top tips for building? I really need some badass tips from super experienced guys, because i really want this project to work!!

Btw, How do i make a pod?? I plan to use either a Clone Brick with 2 servos, or 2 micro servos

Im on pretty tight budget, and I really cant afford the fancy composite wings, covering .. .So i made a solid wing.

I really like paper planes as a kid, seeing them glide so gracefully makes me so happy, I hope this mini DLG will do the same

Cheers
Planery is offline Find More Posts by Planery
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2016, 02:33 PM
Find More Posts by tom43004
Father of Fr3aK, DLG Pilot
USA, OH, Worthington
Joined May 2002
8,011 Posts
My first DLGs were made using lost foam method for the pod. Basically carving it out of foam, sticking composite cloth pieces to it with 3m77 spray, then saturating with epoxy and then dissolving out the foam after the epoxy cures.

Using a carbon arrowshaft for a boom works quite well too, even though many will say they're not stiff enough. I flew several of my early contest ships with them.

Just build and fly. Make the next one a little nicer than this one... it's a process to perfection.
tom43004 is offline Find More Posts by tom43004
Old Feb 03, 2016, 05:40 PM
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2015
150 Posts
I see... Thank you very much for the pod ideas, I will get some 3m 77 spray, epoxy and some composite cloth pieces